Conn wins Red Dirt Raceway’s Mike Peters Classic

Tanner Conn led the last 38 laps in winning Red Dirt Raceway’s Mike Peters Classic. The victory was his Ameriflex/Oil Capital Racing Series career first. (Photo by Mike Howard)

By John Rittenoure 

MEEKER, Okla. (June 25) – Tanner Conn took advantage of his outside front row starting position to win the 40-lap AmeriFlex/Oil Capital Racing Series 40-lap Mike Peters Classic Friday at Red Dirt Raceway. 

It was Conn’s first career victory with the IMCA RaceSaver Sprint Car Series and he became the seventh different OCRS winner of the 2021 season.  

It took Conn two laps to get past pole sitter Brandon Jennings. Once out front, Conn led the remaining 38 laps.

Joe Wood Jr. started sixth and raced his way into second on lap 32 but could not catch Conn. Joe Bob Lee, who started 15th after transferring from the ‘B’ main, moved into third on the final lap. Danny Smith and Steven Shebester finished fourth and fifth, respectively.  

Feature results – 1. Tanner Conn; 2. Joe Wood Jr.; 3. Joe Bob Lee; 4. Danny Smith; 5. Steven Shebester; 6. Brandon Jennings; 7. Rees Moran; 8. Danny Wood; 9. Grady Mercer; 10. Noah Harris; 11. Blake Scott; 12. Alison Slaton; 13. Whit Gastineau; 14. Roy Larkin; 15. Alex Sewell; 16. Jase Randolph; 17. Andy Shouse; 18. Andrew Deal; 19. Marcus Thomas.