Wolf back in winner’s circle at Kossuth County

Austin Wolf was the Thursday night IMCA Modified feature winner at Kossuth County Speedway. (Photo by Greg Grabianowski)

By Greg Grabianowski                                                                             

ALGONA, Iowa (June 17) – It has been a while since Austin Wolf has piloted his no. 72 rig into the winner’s circle. But the Algona IMCA Modified driver tossed that monkey off his back on Thursday at Kossuth County Speedway.

Wolf grabbed the lead immediately on the opening circuit of the track before surviving a caution flag on lap number five and a late challenge from Kelly Shryock for his first feature win of the season.

Shryock finished second as Ben Schultze had a nice run for third. Nick Meyer was fourth and pole-sitter Mat Hollerich rounded out the top five.

Another Algona driver missing from victory lane at the track found his way there as Colby Fett led the entire way in the Karl Kustoms Northern SportMod feature ahead of a battle for second place. 

Matt Looft edged Doug Cook for that position as Gerald Curry placed fourth and George Nordman was fifth. 

The IMCA Sunoco Stock Car feature saw Wayne Landheer as the early leader and he led the first four laps until Donovan Smith took over the top spot. Smith led for the next four laps before Shryock became the new leader and went onto to his third victory of the season at the track. 

Smith was the runner-up followed by Chad Palmer, Landheer and Troy Swearingen.

The IMCA Sunoco Hobby Stock feature saw James Burns take the early lead and hold that spot for the first five circuits before Chris Krug wrestled away the lead. The next lap saw another car make contact with both Burns and Krug as an ugly black flag appeared. 

Krug maintained the lead as the race got back going and led all the way until the final lap when Carter Koop made a late pass for his second feature win of the season in Algona. 

Krug’s good run netted him second place as Brandon Nielsen was third with Jay Sidles taking fourth and Micah Lavrenz finished fifth.

Kaytee DeVries has dominated the Mach-1 Sport Compacts at the track this summer and Thursday night was no different as the Spencer driver grabbed the lead right away and earned her fifth straight feature win.

Lucas Parsons finished in second place as Cade Lehr was third followed by Jaedon Erickson and Charles Prime.