Kay just in time to take Drive For Five checkers

Justin Kay made the pull down to Lee County Speedway on Friday and earned $1,000 for claiming the 25-lap IMCA Sunoco Late Model Drive For Five qualifying feature. Also pictured is track promoter Brian Gaylord. (Photo by MF Photography)

By Brian Neal

DONNELLSON, Iowa (May 14) – Justin Kay was just in time to the checkers to win Friday’s second install­ment of Drive For Five for IMCA Sunoco Late Models at Lee County Speedway.

Dennis Woodworth and Justin Kay drew the front row for the 25-lap feature, with Woodworth grabbing the early lead over Kay and Matt Ryan. The action was slowed for the first time of the race on lap three, as Sam Halstead spun to bring out the yellow. 

On the restart, Kay slipped past Woodworth to take over the top spot. 

While Kay set the pace out front, Woodworth, Ryan and Mark Burgtorf battled for the runner-up spot. An­thony Haines spun in on lap 15 to bring the action to a slow pace. Kay jumped back out front on the restart, with Tommy Elston, who started 11th, overtaking Ryan for second. 

Three laps later, a brief rain shower slowed the action, and after a few laps to pack the racing surface back in the green was waved for the final six laps. Kay moved back out front but had Ryan, Elston, eighth starting Andy Nezworksi and Burgtorf trying to challenge for the top spot. 

Kay was able to hold them all off to score his first $1,000 Drive For Five. Elston won the battle for second, Ryan was third, Nezworski fourth and Burgtorf fifth. 

Austen Becerra had won a fourth consecutive Karl Kustoms Northern SportMod feature earlier in the even­ing. Mach-1 Sport Compacts followed the Late Models onto the track and were rained out at the start of their feature. 

IMCA Sunoco Stock Car and Sport Compact features will be made up on May 21. The $1,000 to win Drive For Five IMCA Modified qualifier will be June 11. 

Iowa Corn Growers Association and Hinkle Auto Sales Drive For Five qualifying nights are presented by Ideal Ready Mix, Floyd’s Waste Systems, J.J. Nichting Company Case IH, Triple Seven Trucking, Wood­worth Attorney at Law, Triple R Performance Engines, Old Barn Taxidermy, Mike Campbell’s Body Shop & Towing, Donnellson Tire & Service, KQ92, and Big Country 103.1. 

Feature results – 1. Justin Kay; 2. Tommy Elston; 3. Matt Ryan; 4. Andy Nezworski; 5. Mark Burgtorf; 6. Dennis Woodworth; 7. Brandon Rothzen; 8. Jay Johnson; 9. Matt Strassheim; 10. Ron Boyse; 11. Darin Weisinger Jr.; 12. Chris Richard; 13. Anthony Haines; 14. Chuck Hanna; 15. Sam Halstead; 16. Nick Marolf.