Olson aces opener at Arlington

Matt Olson topped the opening night feature for IMCA Sunoco Hobby Stocks at Arlington Raceway. (Photo by Sarah Moriarty)

ARLINGTON, Minn. (May 8) – Opening night at Arlington Raceway saw 128 cars in action and Matt Olson in victory lane after the IMCA Sunoco Hobby Stock lidlifter. 

Mason Goettl led the first few laps from his front row starting spot before defending national and track champion Cory Probst, who had started 12th, came calling.

Olson had been picking off cars and got around Probst following a restart to take over the lead and led the remaining laps to win the race. Probst took second and Goettl took third.

The IMCA Sunoco Stock Car feature did not disappoint. Jeff Larson started in the third row and going into turn two got around five cars to take the lead. He and Brent Uecker then raced side-by-side for several laps. 

Larson maintained his spot out front while he led the field around the track but defending and 11-time track champion Dan Mackenthun, who had started 11th, was seeing the front clearly and wanted the win. He made a last-lap pass and got around Uecker but couldn’t get around Larson.

Larson won with Mackenthun second and Uecker third. 

Brandon Beckendorf was the start to finish IMCA Modified feature winner and Brandon Allen motored from ninth starting to top the IMCA RaceSaver Sprint Car main event. 

Zach Davis led from lap to the checkers in the Karl Kustoms Northern SportMod main. Marshall Robinson led the last four circuits in winning the Mach-1 Sport Compact headliner.