Competition is fierce at Lincoln County lidlifter

By Kelly Ninas

NORTH PLATTE, Neb. (April 24) – Getting the season started off on the right foot, the competition was fierce for top honors during the 2021 Lincoln County Raceway season opener on Saturday night.

Earning elite accolades for their efforts to be spotlighted in victory lane were Dillon Schultz, Troy Bayne, Mikey Dancer, Tanner Clough and Ted Trumbo.

Starting on the inside of the second row, Schultz grabbed the lead early and never look back to earn the IMCA Modified victory. Stalking Schultz much of the event was Brandon Clough as he tried to catfish around the low side of the track as well test the waters on the cushion but it was too little, too late and Clough was forced to settle for runner-up honors. 

Don Geist was third.

Taking full advantage of the great starting position, Bayne was the winner of the Karl Kustoms Northern SportMod feature. Bayne started on the pole and cruised to the victory. 

Paul Donovan started on the outside of the front row and challenged Bayne early, even putting on a slide job through the corners that gave him the lead before Bayne struck back.

Donovan ended in second while veteran wheelman Kerry Jones moved from a fifth row start to finish third. 

Hometown hero Dancer started his season right, leading every lap of the IMCA Sunoco Stock Car feature. Travis Demilt saw his consistency pay off in working the wheel to finish in the runner-up position and Mike Earll  was third. 

Riding on the ragged edge, Tanner Clough rode the cushion the whole way to victory lane in the IMCA Hobby Stock feature after starting on the outside of the front row. Clough held off all challengers and led every lap. Coming from the inside of the second row, Zach Olmstead surged to a runner-up finish. Coming home in third place Jeromy Wagner.

Leading every lap of the heat race and feature event, Trumbo swept the Mach-1 Sport Compacts victories.

Trumbo started on the outside of the front row,  got the lead early and turned on cruise control to claim the victory. Kyle Filyaw and Kala Carpenter were second and third, respectively.