IMCA car count at 171 for opening night at Boone

Josh May goes down in the history book as the first-ever IMCA STARS Mod Lite feature winner at Boone Speedway. (Photo by Bruce Badgley, Motorsports Photography)

By Joyce Eisele 

BOONE, Iowa (April 10) – Boone Speedway held its season points opener on Saturday night as 171 IMCA Modifieds, IMCA Sunoco Stock Cars, IMCA Karl Kustoms Northern SportMods, IMCA Sunoco Hobby Stocks, and for the first time running under the IMCA banner, the IMCA STARS Mod Lites all began their quest for track championships.

The IMCA STARS Mod Lites kicked off feature racing with their inaugural IMCA sanctioned 15-lap main event. Jon Braathun led the opening laps, only to have Cody Yaw take over the top spot by lap four.  Yaw’s lead would end just four laps later when he and a lap car collided, bringing out a yellow. 

Second running Joel Huggins inherited the lead for the restart,  and would go on to be in command the remaining laps and take the checkers ahead of Josh May. Tenth place starter Randy Bryan crossed the line in third.  However, Huggins was disqualified after a post-race inspection found his body not meeting the spec requirements.  This handed that inaugural IMCA-sanctioned win to Josh May.

Chad Ryerson led all 18 laps of the Karl Kustoms Northern SportMod feature on his way to the checkered flag.  Ryerson started on the outside pole and had no trouble keeping his competition at bay on his way to victory lane.  Nebraska’s Shawn Harker made the trip to Iowa’s Action Track and took home the runner-up spot. Third went to defending track champion and last week’s Frostbuster winner Johnathon Logue.

Defending track champion Tim Ward took home the win in the IMCA Modifieds. He wrestled the lead away from Jimmy Gustin at lap 11 and pulled away to take the comfortable win.  Nick Roberts finished a distant second and Santa Maria, Calif.’s Dylan Thornton was third.

The IMCA Sunoco Stock Cars were up next for 20-laps of feature racing.  Devin Smith started on the outside front row and immediately grabbed the lead, never to relinquish it.  Smith was gone and easily outdistanced second place finisher Jeff Mueller. Michael Jaennette and travelers Tommy Fain of Abilene, Texas, and Dan Mackenthun of Hamburg, Minn., rounded out the top five.

The IMCA Sunoco Hobby Stocks put a nightcap on the evening’s racing with their 15-lap main event.  Michael Smith would also lead this one from start to finish on his way to the checkered flag.  Eric Knutson applied the pressure to Smith, looking outside, then inside, but to no avail.  Knutson had to be content with the runner-up position.  Eric Stanton was third.