Notable firsts, previous race winners among 28 drivers elected to Fast Shafts All-Star Invitational

BOONE, Iowa – IMCA Modified drivers from a dozen states, representing notable first-time competitors as well as previous race winners, have been elected to start the 17th annual Fast Shafts All-Star Invitational.

Kelsie Foley of Tucson, Ariz., becomes the first female driver elected to the All-Star race. Other first-time All-Stars who will take the green flag in the Friday, Sept. 11 spectacular, during the IMCA Speedway Motors Super Nationals fueled by Casey’s at Boone Speedway, are David Goode Jr. of Copperas Cove, Texas, Jake O’Neil, also of Tucson, and Brandon Smith of Bath, N.Y. 

They’ll be joined on the starting grid by defending race winner Joel Rust of Grundy Center, 2018 winner Hunter Marriott of Brookfield, Mo., 2013 winner Todd Shute of Norwalk, 2011 winner Chris Abelson of Sioux City and 2005 and 2008 winner Jay Noteboom of Hinton.

Noteboom will make his career 12th All-Star start, Abelson and Tim Ward of Chandler, Ariz., both their 10th.

Calera, Okla.’s William Gould is an eight-time All-Star. Richie Gustin of Gilman, Ricky Thornton Jr. of Adel and A.J. Ward of Ionia, Mich., each make career seventh All-Star starts.

Six-time All-Stars are Marriott, Kelly Shryock of Fertile, Shute and Jeff Taylor of Cave City, Ark., while Jason Wolla of Ray, N.D., and Zane DeVilbiss of Farmington, N.M., both made the show for the fifth time.

Steven Bowers Jr. of Topeka, Kan., Ethan Dotson of Bakersfield, Calif., and Jesse Sobbing of Malvern all make fourth All-Star starts.

In for the third time are Cayden Carter of Oskaloosa, Clay Money of Penokee, Kan., and Rust. Jeff Aikey of Cedar Falls, Tom Berry Jr. of Des Moines, 2019 runner-up Tanner Black of Otis, Kan., Chris Elliott of Abilene, Texas and Mitchell Hunt of Kent City, Mich., were elected for the second time in their respective careers. 

Completing the starting field of 30 for the $1,000 to win feature will be drivers with the top national point to­tal and the most 40-point feature wins as of Aug. 28 compet­ing at Super Nationals.

In the history of the event, 149 drivers from 26 states and two Canadian provinces have now been All-Stars.