Wilinski, Forstner, Schmidt are IMCA winners at Shawano

Konnor Wilinski raced from eighth starting to win the Saturday IMCA Modified feature at Shawano Speed­way. (Photo by Turn 2 Photos)

SHAWANO, Wis. (Aug. 8) – The 2019 Shawano Speedway track champions were honored Saturday as part of the Night of Champions. The action on the track that evening saw the 2020 points battle heat up while heading towards the season’s end.  

In the IMCA Modified feature, Shawn Frelich and Jesse Peebles led the field to the line. Peebles grabbed the early advantage while Konnor Wilinski began his move forward after starting eighth. Wilinski captured the top spot a few laps later.

Wilinski began to pull away as Marcus Yarie and Lance Arneson gave chase. As the top three worked themselves free of the pack, Lucas Lamberies was slicing his way through the field. Wilinski proved up to the challenge, grabbing the feature win with Yarie finishing second. 

It only took Chucky Forstner a couple laps to take the top spot in the IMCA Sunoco Stock Car feature. Gary Kasperek applied the pressure on Forstner for the first half of the feature which went caution free. Jeremy Christians and Trent Nolan would battle it out for the runner-up spot with Nolan grabbing the spot behind Forstner.                                                                                                                   

The Karl Kustoms Northern SportMod feature saw Andy Klosterman sneak by Max Oreskovich for the early lead. 

Klosterman looked well on his way to an impressive victory until a caution brought perennial frontrunner Jayden Schmidt to his back bumper. Schmidt used the restart to grab the top position and drive off to yet another feature win.