Mike Mullen masters IMCA Modified main at Outagamie

By Edward Anschutz 

SEYMOUR, Wis. (July 17) – Shawn Freilich jumped to the point of the IMCA Modified feature Fri­day at Outagamie Speedway. His reign up front didn’t last long as ‘Mighty’ Mike Mullen blasted to lead on lap four.

Benji LaCrosse came to call midway through the contest as he worked into the runner-up posi­tion. LaCrosse closed in late but it was Mullen scoring the win. LaCrosse had to settle for second place pay, Josh Long took third, Marcus Yarie was fourth and Jerry Wilinski completed the top five. The contest went green to checkers.

In Karl Kustoms Northern SportMod action, drama unfolded early as point leader Vince Engebregsten didn’t make the call for the starting lineup.

Zachary Raab took the lead on lap four and never looked back, cruising to a dominating win. The win was Raab’s first-ever at the speedway. Cole Magnin, Tyler Sobiesczyk, Matt Radtke and Jeff Schmuhl rounded out the top five.

Clint Malueg was victorious in the Mach-1 Sport Compacts.