Carter, Van Eaton capture night 2 Dirt Duel qualifiers

By Josh Reynolds

STUART, Iowa (June 2) – Brayton Carter and Todd Van Eaton won qualifying features on night two of Stuart Speedway’s Dynamic Drivelines Dirt Duel.

Qualifying for Wednesday’s 50-lap Karl Kustoms Northern SportMod feature was set by four heats and two “B” features. Carter and Colby Langenberg brought the field to life with Carter taking control early. 

Cautions bunched the field up a few times but Carter was up to the challenge each time and went on to the win. Carter, Brian Osantowski, Colby Fett and Johnathon Logue were the top four cars that locked into Wednesday’s big show.

IMCA Sunoco Stock Cars followed the same exact format as the SportMods with Todd VanEaton and Joe Zrost­lik on the front row. VanEaton took control on the bottom side of the track and never looked back, taking the flag to flag, caution-free win.

Troy Jerovetz, Dallon Murty and Derek Green rounded out the top four and those drivers will make up the outside of the front four rows for Wednesday’s big feature.

Ashton Blain and Ryan Brown were on the front row for the Mach-1 Sport Compact feature. Chris and Bryan Vannausdle made it a family affair at the front until Kolby Sabin broke up the party with two laps to go.

Sabin looked to take the win, but it was Chris Vannausdle with the last lap move in turn three to get the victory. Sabin settled for second with Bryan Vannausdle third, Mitchell Bunch fourth and Blain fifth. 

The 2020 Dynamic Drivelines Dirt Duel is sponsored by Midstate Machine, Sniper Speed and Country Kitchen of Stuart. 

Wednesday brings the championship round with last-chance qualifying for the final eight rows for SportMods and Stock Cars. IMCA Modifieds join the show for the second annual Bill Davis Memorial and the IMCA Sunoco Hobby Stocks make an appearance as well.