DeVilbiss can’t be denied sixth straight win, second Wild West IMCA Modified Tour title

Zane DeVilbiss earned a record sixth straight IMCA Modified feature win and career second Wild West Tour crown Saturday at Idaho Falls Raceway. (Photo by Melissa Coker, Melissa’s Out On A Limb Photography)

IDAHO FALLS, Idaho (Sept. 21) – Rain could delay but not deny Zane DeVilbiss a record sixth straight series feature win and the Wild West IMCA Modified Tour title that went with it Saturday night. 

DeVilbiss topped the main event at Idaho Falls Raceway, leading all 25 laps from the pole in the $1,200 victory. 

“It was an amazing deal for us. We had a good weekend and we’ve had a good year,” said DeVilbiss, already on the Fast Shafts All-Star Invitational ballot. “They gave us a great track and I was able to run anywhere I wanted.”

Also the 2010 tour champ, DeVilbiss moved into sole possession of second place on the all-time tour wins list with 19; he’d been tied with Justen Yeager, the runner-up at Idaho Falls. 

“We had a late yellow and both Justen and Braxton (Yeager) were right there to challenge me,” said DeVilbiss. “They didn’t make it easy, that’s for sure.”

Regan Tafoya and Shawn LaRocque completed the top five. Travis Metz started 14th and finished sixth. 

Once the Friday program was rained out, DeVilbiss snuck in a 300-mile trip to Millard County Raceway and finished second. Dillion Lawrence also made the trip to Delta to win the evening’s IMCA Sunoco Stock Car feature, then headed to Idaho Falls where he started 10th and won the Saturday main. 

“When you draw the 10 pill, you don’t know what’s possible. Then the green flag drops and you go to work,” said Lawrence, who reeled in teammate Ed Henderson for the lead. “It was one thing to catch him and another thing to pass him.”

Lawrence became the eight different winner in nine Stock Car tour events. Henderson, the only repeat winner, wrapped up the tour championship with his second-place finish. Aspen Russell ended in third. 

And Cody Malcom was the ninth different winner in as many Karl Kustoms Northern SportMod features, leading every lap after two early cautions.

Jake Rice and tour champion Rex Higgins were next across the stripe.

“The tour is definitely one of the best things to come to this region,” said Malcom, who was not challenged after those early yellows. 

Feature Results

Modifieds – 1. Zane DeVilbiss; 2. Justen Yeager; 3. Braxton Yeager; 4. Regan Tafoya; 5. Shawn LaRocque; 6. Travis Metz; 7. Chris Delp; 8. Heath Denney; 9. Michael Hale; 10. Lakota Cleveland; 11. Junior Flores; 12. Cory Craver; 13. Tony Steward; 14. Ty Clemens; 15. K.C. Perez; 16. Jason Donnelly; 17. Matthew Ratzlaff; 18. Bryan Wordelman; 19. Jacob Jones; 20. Jake Donnelly; 21. Richard Anderson; 22. Kenny Vollmer; 23. Ty Gamble; 24. Bert Beech. 

Stock Cars – 1. Dillion Lawrence; 2. Ed Henderson; 3. Aspen Russell; 4. Kevin Wright; 5. Tyler Whetstone; 6. Beau Hutchison; 7. Levi Card; 8. Kasey Bright; 9. Shawn Parish; 10. Grayson Denney; 11. Racely Card. 

Northern SportMods – 1. Cody Malcom; 2. Jake Rice; 3. Rex Higgins; 4. Chuck Delp; 5. David Pitt; 6. Ed Gilbert; 7. Kendra Vollmer; 8. Troy Householder; 9. Robert Gallegos; 10. Christina Ratzlaff; 11. Chris Hatch; 12. Verlon Lee; 13. Jon Hammond; 14. Wayland Duncan; 15. Brian Carey; 16. Cody Taylor; 17. Brandon Phillips; 18. Morris Duncan; 19. Jason Wright; 20. B.J. Haslam; 21. T.J. Barrett; 22. Slade Pitt; 23. Tyson White.