Champions fill starting grids for all four Saturday RoC events at Super Nationals

BOONE, Iowa – Every driver in the four race of champions events at the IMCA Speedway Motors Super Nationals fueled by Casey’s on Saturday, Sept. 7 is a champion before they even take the green flag.

The 31st annual Harris Auto Racing Race of Champions features a dozen drivers battling for $1,000 to win while the 18th annual Sunoco Face Fuels Race of Champions for Stock Cars pays $500 to win.

The 11th annual Stephenville Starter Race of Champions for Hobby Stocks and BSB Manufacturing Race of Champions for Northern SportMods both pay $300 to win.

Hobby Stock and SportMod RoC qualifying will be Tuesday, Sept. 3. Modified and Stock Car RoC qualifying is Thursday, Sept. 5.

Drivers eligible to qualify for their respective events include former national and Super Nationals champions and race of champions winners, 2019 track champions/point leader or the second-place driver if the leader is not in attendance.

Also eligible to qualify are former Modified (from 1993), Stock Car and Hobby Stock regional champions.

One hundred dollars will be paid to the leader of each lap in the Modified RoC and the winner becomes a 2020 Fast Shafts All-Star Invitational candidate as well.     

Ten cars start the Sunoco race. Lap money is $75. Distances for both Northern SportMod and Hobby Stock RoC events are 10 laps.

2018 race winners were Jason Wolla in the Modified RoC, John Oliver Jr. in the Sunoco RoC, Colby Fett in the Northern SportMod RoC and Corey Madden in the Hobby Stock RoC.

Wayne Larson, Bill Davis Sr., Mark Noble, Johnny Saathoff, Al Hejna, Kevin Stoa, Jimmy Gustin and Dustin Smith are all two-time Harris winners.

David Smith is a three-time Sunoco RoC winner. Kevin Opheim and Donavon Smith have both won it twice.

Both the Hobby Stock and Northern SportMod events have yet to see repeat winners.