Nielsen thunders to rich Hobby checkers at Algona

Cody Nielsen banked $1,000 by winning the Thunderdome Shootout special for IMCA Sunoco Hobby Stocks at Kossuth County Speedway. (Photo by Greg Grabianowski)

By Greg Grabianowski

ALGONA, Iowa (June 13) – Cody Nielsen made like lightning in winning Thursday’s Thunder­dome IMCA Sunoco Hobby Stock Shootout at Kossuth County Speedway.

The victory paid $1,000 and came ahead of defending race winner Dylan Nelson. 

Josh Sidles and Jamie Weishaar brought the feature field to the flag stand as Sidles took the ini­tial lead. 

Cautions came out on laps two and eight to bunch the field back up; Nielsen grabbed the lead at halfway and went on to his second feature win of the season at Algona. 

Keeran Sampson, national points leader Leah Wroten and Josh Sidles completed the top five. Nielsen also scored hard charger honors after starting 11th. 

Jeremy Mills raced to IMCA Modified career win number 99 and Heath Tulp topped the IMCA Sunoco Stock Car feature. 

Alec Fett was first to the Karl Kustoms Northern SportMod checkers while Jay DeVries was the Mach-1 Sport Compact winner.

Feature results – 1. Cody Nielsen; 2. Dylan Nelson; 3. Keeran Sampson; 4. Leah Wroten; 5. Josh Sidles; 6. Brandon Nielsen; 7. Bryce Sommerfeld; 8. James Burns; 9. Chris Krug; 10. Jay Sidles; 11. Josh Lyon; 12. Tim Sidles; 13. Kyle Sidles; 14. Jamie Weishaar; 15. Chad Krug; 16. Doug Wickman; 17. Myles Koob.