Yarie wires Racing For A Reason IMCA Modified field at Shawano 

Marcus Yarie led from start to finish in winning the IMCA Modified feature and $1,000 during Shawano Speedway’s racing For A Reason Saturday night. (Photo courtesy of Shawano Speed­way)

By Scott Owen

SHAWANO, Wis. (July 28) – Marcus Yarie utilized his art skills in drawing the pole for the IMCA Modified feature, then led all 20 laps for the $1,000 win Saturday at Shawano Speedway.

Brekken Kleinschmidt challenged Yarie early in the Racing For A Reason Fast Shafts All-Star Invitational ballot qualifier, while Lance Arneson and Wyatt Block challenged late in the race.

It was all in vain, though, as Yarie would not be denied. He was chased across the finish line by Arneson, the 10th starting Block, Jason Czarapata and 12th starting Mike Mullen.

The eighth annual Racing For A Reason event again brought out a huge crowd to raise money for childhood cancer charities. The night was also highlighted by a memorial to honor former track champion Mark Mitchell who passed away this past winter after a battle with cancer.

Other winners included Dan Michonski, who came from ninth to win his second IMCA Sunoco Stock Car feature of the season, and 15-year-old Jayden Schmidt, who topped the Karl Chevrolet Northern SportMod main.

Schmidt won his first feature a year ago during Racing For A Reason.

Modified feature results – 1. Marcus Yarie; 2. Lance Arneson; 3. Wyatt Block; 4. Jason Czarapata; 5. Mike Mullen; 6. Brekken Kleinschmidt; 7. Chucky Forstner; 8. Jerry Wilinski; 9. Jerry Muenster; 10. Matt Oreskovich; 11. Craig Bartz; 12. J.J. Anderson; 13. Jamie Schmidt; 14. Mark Weisnicht; 15. Jordan Tuvis; 16. Michael Bailey; 17. Shawn Frelich; 18. Paul Thorpe; 19. Justin Ritchie; 20. Tim Rothe; 21. Nick Holtger; 22. Eddie Muenster; 23. Trevor Spaulding.