Sprint Series of Oklahoma Invades Lawton Speedway Saturday night

By David Smith Jr.

LAWTON, Okla. – The Sprint Series of Oklahoma presented by Smiley’s Rac­ing Products/Hoosier Racing Tire Southwest kicks back into racing action this Saturday, April 14 as it makes the first of three scheduled appearances at Lawton Speedway.

This event will kick off four straight weekends of racing for the IMCA RaceSaver Sprint Car series at four different tracks and will be the series’ second-ever trip to the quarter-mile, red clay oval.

Last year it was two-time and defending tour champion Andy Shouse taking advantage of race-long leader Blake Dacus’ misfortune to take the lead with eight laps to go to pick up the victory. Thirty-one drivers from three states were pit side and close to the same car count is expected this weekend.

Shouse comes into the night with a slim seven-point lead over Shane Sellers. Sellers picked up his first career SSO victory at Enid Speedway two weeks ago.

Chris Kelly, who picked up the season-opening victory at Southern Oklahoma Speedway back in March, sits 15 points out of the lead while Gary Owens (-16) and Brandon Jennings (-24) are the current top five in the standings.

Sitting sixth through tenth are Travis Scott, Cody Whitworth, Kevin Ramey, Michael Day and Blake Scott. All the above-mentioned drivers are expected to compete except Ramey and Day.

Other drivers slated include Joe Wood Jr., Loyd Clevenger, Tanner Conn, Dillon Laden, Eric Mat­thews, Justin Mowry, Dacus, Sterling Hoff, Duane Baker, Justin Fisk and Matt Arkel.

Several area track regulars are also expected as Lawton Speedway became the first track in the state of Oklahoma to become IMCA RaceSaver sanctioned on their 2018 weekly race program.

Gates will open at 6 p.m. with race action slated for an 8 p.m. start time. Grandstand admission is: Adults $15, seniors (60-plus), military with ID and students ages 12-15 $10, kids ages 6-11 $2 and five and under free. All pit passes will be $30.