Enid checkers fly for Sprint Series of Oklahoma winner Sellers

Shane Sellers celebrates his Saturday night Sprint Series of Oklahoma victory at Enid Speedway. (Photo by Mike Howard)

By David Smith Jr.

ENID, Okla. (March 31) – In only his third appearance behind the wheel, Shane Sellers took the lead early and never looked back to capture the Sprint Series of Oklahoma presented by Smiley’s Racing Products/Hoosier Racing Tires Southwest victory Saturday at Enid Speedway.

Gary Owens and Andy Shouse started on the front row for the 20-lap IMCA RaceSaver Sprint Car feature with Owens taking the early lead over Shouse and fourth-starting Sellers. Sellers dis­posed of Shouse for the runner-up position one lap later and on lap three, took over the top posi­tion from Owens.

The front pair ran one-two with Sellers unchallenged until lap 16, when Owens closed the cap and pressured the leader. Coming out of turn two, Owens made his move to retake the lead on the last lap but Sellers was not be denied and regained the advantage in turns three and four.

He crossed the finish line two car-lengths over Owens to put the Pete Haskins-owned no. 16s into victory lane in only his third start for the team.

Shouse settled for third while eighth starting Zach Blurton came home fourth. Travis Scott rounded out the top five.

Next up for the Sprint Series of Oklahoma will be its first of three scheduled events at Lawton Speed­way on Saturday, April 14.

Feature results – 1. Shane Sellers; 2. Gary Owens; 3. Andy Shouse; 4. Zach Blurton; 5. Travis Scott; 6. Tyler Drueke; 7. Blake Scott; 8. Joe Wood Jr.; 9. Josh Toho; 10. Cody Whitworth; 11. Chris Kelly; 12. Eric Mathews; 13. Justin Mowry; 14. Cody Hays; 15. Ty Williams; 16. Loyd Clevenger; 17. Tanner Conn; 18. Brandon Jennings; 19. Mike Scott; 20 Jake Martens.