Strickler paces IMCA Modifieds during Race For Hope 74 time trials

IMCA Modified drivers with the fourth fastest times in Tuesday trials at Batesville Motor Speed­way’s Race For Hope 74, from left and from fourth to fastest, were Justin Kay, Tyler Stevens, Chris Abelson and Kyle Strickler. Strickler and Abelson are locked into the starting grid for Satur­day’s $20,000 to win main event. (Photo by Melissa Coker, Melissa’s Out On A Limb Photog­raphy)

By Mike Spieker

BATESVILLE, Ark. (Sept. 26) – A stout field of 91 IMCA Modifieds checked in at Batesville Motor Speedway for the first of five nights of action during the Race For Hope 74.

Tuesday began with practice for all competitors and concluded with time trials, which set heat race lineups for the remainder of the week.

Kyle Strickler of Mooresville, N.C., set the overall quick time with a lap of 16.913 seconds, averag­ing 79.82 mph around the high-banked, 3/8-mile clay oval. Strickler was the only driver to run a lap in the 16-second bracket.

Chris Abelson of Sioux City, Iowa, was second quick with a time of 17.068.

Both drivers have locked themselves into Saturday night’s $20,000 to win, minimum $2,000 to start main event by virtue of their top-two qualifying efforts.

Wednesday through Friday’s program will feature 15 qualifying heat races with a nightly feature, where the top eight finishers will automatically transfer into Saturday’s main event.

On Saturday, the night will be highlighted by the 74-lap, Race For Hope 74 feature. During the race, a mandatory fuel stop will take place on lap 40.

Also on the card Saturday will be the State Race. The fastest car from each state that did not make the main event will race for $1,000 to win.

The Manufacturers’ Race will also be $1,000 to win. The fastest participating manufacturer not locked into the main event will be eligible to compete.

Pits open at 3 p.m., grandstands open at 5:30 p.m. and racing starts at 7 p.m. each night.

If you cannot make it to Batesville Motor Speedway, IMCATV has you covered with live coverage of all five nights with a daily or yearly pass.

For more information, visit or