Sprint Cars invade RPM Speedway 

By Mike Hughes

HAYS, Kan. (June 5)—The United Rebel Sprint Series made their first appearance of the year at RPM Speedway on Steve King Foundation Night Sunday evening.

Kade Hagens took the early lead in the 25-lap feature for IMCA EMI RaceSaver Sprint Cars, fol­lowed by Nate Berry and Luke Cranston. After a caution on lap two, the leaders quickly got into lapped traffic on lap six.

Berry got high in turn two on lap eight, allowing Cranston and Jake Bubak to move to second and third, respectively. As the field came out of turn four to the halfway mark, Cranston took the lead.  Berry drove off turn two on lap 19 to bring out the final caution and give the field a chance at Cranston.

Cranston, however, was up to the challenge and drove on to victory lane. Bubak finished second, followed by Steven Richardson, Ty Williams and Tracy Hill.

In the 20-lap Golden Plains Trucking IMCA Hobby Stock feature Duane Wahrman jumped out to the early lead but Brady Bencken took over the top spot on lap six. Shay Simoneau gave chase through a couple late caution periods but Bencken was able to beat the field to the checkers.  Simo­neau finished second, trailed by Eric Cross.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply