Zrostlik, Barnes, Burke win at Davenport

By Mike McGuire

DAVENPORT, Iowa (June 3) – All three IMCA feature winners Friday night were first-time visitors to victory lane this season at Davenport Speedway.

Joe Zrostlik scored his first local Petersen Plumbing and Heating IMCA Late Model victory of the season. Zrostlik led all 25 laps en route to the win. Chuck Hanna was closing in lapped traffic but finished a car length behind the leader. Ray Guss Jr. drove from ninth to finish third. Matt Ryan and Andy Nezworski rounded out the first five.

Eric Barnes made his first trip to victory lane in the Eriksen’s IMCA Modifieds. Barnes started on the pole and led all 20 laps. Matt Werner finished in the runner-up spot. Bob Dominacki, Ray Cox Jr. and Bruce Hanford all swapped positions several times before finishing third through fifth, in that order.

Thirty-two Modifieds were on hand again Friday night.

Andrew Burk pushed his way to the front in the Hawkeye Auto IMCA Northern SportMod feature. Burk made a bold move on the inside to pass Doug Burkhead and Jared Waterman for the lead. Burk then led the rest of the way to checkers.

Jarrett Franzen got close to Burk a couple of times but had to settle for second. Waterman held on for third. Tony Olson, in a barrowed car, finished fourth, ahead of Ross Neal.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply