IMCA Hawkeye Dirt Tour title chase starts at Benton County 

VINTON, Iowa – The best Xtreme Motor Sports IMCA Modified drivers from across the Hawkeye State and much of the Midwest converge on Benton County Speedway next Monday, May 30 for the first of a dozen 2016 Hawkeye Dirt Tour events.

The Memorial Day feature at Vinton pays $1,000 to win, a minimum of $150 to start and is a quali­fier for the Fast Shafts All-Star Invitational ballot.

Modified drivers also have the opportunity to tune up for the Memorial Day event with a $1,000 to win feature during the weekly show May 29 at Vinton. HDT drivers who race in the Sunday draw/redraw event don’t have to pay the $50 series entry fee on Memorial Day.

Pit gates and the grandstand both open at 4 p.m. Monday. Hot laps are at 5:45 p.m. and racing starts at 6 p.m.

IMCA Speedway Motors Weekly Racing National, BMS North Central Region, Allstar Perfor­mance State and special series points, but not track points, will be awarded to Modifieds. Also running are IMCA Sunoco Stock Cars, IMCA Sunoco Hobby Stocks and Karl Chevrolet Northern SportMods for all applicable points, including track.

Grandstand admission is $15 for adults and $5 for kids. Pit passes are $25.

More information is available by calling promoter Mick Trier at 515 201-5526 or the IMCA home office at 319 472-2201. The track website is

Racing also starts at 6 p.m. on Sunday and both weekend programs will be broadcast on IMCA.TV.

Benton County Speedway is the traditional home of the IMCA Modified division and has hosted four opening night events and five races in all since the Hawkeye Dirt Tour started in 2010.

Jason Wolla made the long trip from North Dakota to win at Vinton last May. The defending series champion is Kyle Brown of State Center.

Next on the Hawkeye Dirt Tour slate will be events Tuesday, June 7 at Marshalltown Speedway and Thursday, June 9 at Kossuth County Speedway in Algona.

2015 Hawkeye Dirt Tour top 20 point standings – 1. Kyle Brown, State Center, 277; 2. Mike Van Genderen, Oskaloosa, 264; 3. David Brown, Kellogg, 170; 4. Ronn Lauritzen, Jesup, 166; 5. Ryan Maitland, Waterloo, 155; 6. Andrew Schroeder, Keswick, 136; 7. Nick Roberts, LaCrosse, Wis., 130; 8. Mitchell Morris, Long Grove, 129; 9. Justin Kay, Wheatland, 114; 10. Chris Zogg, New Liberty, 106; 11. Patrick Flannagan, Cedar Rapids, 103; 12. Hunter Marriott, Brookfield, Mo., 101; 13. Troy Cordes, Dunkerton, 99; 14. Jeff Waterman, Quincy, Ill., 97; 15. Jeremy Mills, Gar­ner, 92; 16. Todd Shute, Des Moines, 91; 17. Cayden Carter, Oskaloosa, and Zach Less, Manches­ter, both 89; 19. Colt Mather, Keswick, 88; 20. Kurt Kile, Nichols, 83.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply