Hinrichs, Stewart drive to West Liberty wins

By Jerry Mackey

WEST LIBERTY, Iowa (May 14) – Racing action went on Saturday night at the West Liberty Race­way as nearly 100 race car drivers packed the pit area on a very blustery chilly mid-May even­ing.

In the iWireless IMCA Late Model 25 lap feature it was Kyle Hinrichs scoring his third career fea­ture win. Hinrichs took the lead at the green flag from his outside front row start and went on to lead the caution-free race the entire 25 laps.

Cayden Carter ran a very close second in the early going before settling for the runner-up spot at the checkers by a couple car lengths. Jonathan Brauns turned in a great run in taking third.

In only his second night ever in a race car, Derrick Stewart showed he has a bright career ahead of him in scoring a very impressive 20-lap feature win in the very tough Performance Concepts IMCA Modified division.

Stewart is one of many second generation drivers that competes on Saturday nights at West Lib­erty. Stewart showed his dad Kurt has taught him well in driving a flawless race. Stewart was chal­lenged the entire race by another second generation driver, Matt Fulton Jr.

Fulton got alongside Stewart on several occasions but each time Stewart was up to the challenge in getting to the checkers first by a car length. Kurt Kile advanced from the third row to finish third at the finish line.

The Weikert Iron & Metal IMCA Northern SportMod feature belonged to Tim Plummer, who shot to the front from his second row start and went on to score an impressive win ahead of Dan Kelt­ner and Shawn Slaughter.

“I wish I would have switched to dirt racing years ago,” Plummer commented in victory lane. “This is the most fun I have ever had in a race car.”

The Kile Motorsports IMCA Stock Car feature saw veteran Johnny Spaw race from the back of the pack twice to score the victory. Spaw took the win ahead of John Oliver and David Brandies.

The US 6 Bodyworks IMCA Sport Compact feature saw Steve Struck’s perfect season continue at West Liberty. The win on Saturday night was Struck’s fourth of the 2016 season. Second place went to Josh Barnes ahead of Levi Heath.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply