Sprint checkers fly at Arlington for Smith 

ARLINGTON, Minn. (May 7) – Second-year 95.7 IMCA RaceSaver Sprint Car speedster Colin Smith led from start to finish to take opening night honors at Arlington Raceway on Saturday.

Michael Stien weaved his way to second to challenge but had to settle for runner-up points. New­comer and North Dakota traveler Trevor Mell was third.

Dalton Magers led the first 10 laps of the MN 93 IMCA Modified feature but a succession of cau­tions broke his momentum and opened the door for Clint Hatlestad and Mark Noble to get by.

Hatlestad, Noble and Brandon Beckendorf made up the final top three.

Matt Schauer drew the pole for the B&B Racing Chassis IMCA Stock Car feature but it was Dan Mackenthun who led the field into turn one. He stayed in front to the finish with Schauer second and Dean Cornelius third.

Eight green flag laps brought the Karl Chevrolet Northern SportMod main event to a conclusion and Kris Zuhlsdorf proved to be the start-to-finish leader. Rounding out the top three were Tim Bergerson and Matt Looft.

Twenty-three Premier Logistics IMCA Hobby Stocks took the green and fans saw a great race as Cory Probst navigated his way to the front of the pack in only two laps from his seventh place start.

Working behind him was defending national champion Justin Luinenburg, who started 11th. Hometown driver Brad Becker started 10th and challenged Luinenburg but settled for third place as Probst took the checkered ahead of Luinenburg to win his first feature of the year at Arlington.

The redraw was good to another defending national champ as Nate Coopman drew the pole for the Coors Light IMCA Sport Compact feature and stayed in front for the duration of the race. Ryan Bry­ant and Jed Trebelhorn finished second and third, respectively.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply