Andersen aces Eagle Modified main 

By Greg Soukup

EAGLE, Neb. (May 7) – Chad Andersen got the lead back with eight laps to go in winning Satur­day’s Kaplan University IMCA Modified main event at Eagle Raceway.

He was chased to the checkers by Dustin Andersen, Anthony Roth and Shane Hiatt.

“I haven’t had that much fun racing in a long time. Dustin and I don’t get to start on the front row together very often. It was awesome racing with him like that,” Andersen said. “When he passed me I knew that whoever got out front and got to the top first was going to get the win.”

After a complete restart, Mark Leiting checked out on the rest of the NAPA IMCA Northern SportMod feature field. The win was his second locally this season and came ahead of Gary Saathoff, Adam Armstrong and Joe Schidler.

Damon Richards started inside row four and made rare use of the lower line in winning the Valen­tino’s IMCA Hobby Stock headliner. Rounding out the top four were Tyler Saathoff, Dave Carter and Roy Armstrong.

Cole Krichau passed R.J. Maas with three laps left and drove to his first-ever Eagle Raceway Moun­tain Dew Kick Start IMCA Sport Compact victory. Maas, Spencer Pavey III and Kyle Owen were scored next at the finish.

Lee Bowes became the RaceSaver IMCA Sprint Car winner when the first two cars across the line were disqualified when their engines were determined to be over the maximum valve lift limit.

The victory was Bowes’ career first in the class. Ron Love, Ryan King and Matt Richards rounded out the top four. A first-lap incident saw Trevor Grossenbacher’s ride sustain considerable dam­age.

One hundred and thirty-eight teams pulled into the pits for Moms Rock! Night, presented by Pepsi.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply