Marshalltown checkers fly for Lauritzen 

Marshalltown Speedway

MARSHALLTOWN, Iowa (April 22) – It was night number two of points racing at Marshalltown Speedway on Friday and the on-track action was nothing short of spectacular.

Ronn Lauritzen took the win in the Xtreme Motor Sports IMCA Modified feature and while he had breathing room at the finish line, the racing behind him was a shootout to the finish.

Lauritzen started sixth and got around early leaders Jon Snyder and Jake Strayer by lap eight. He set sail on the top of turns three and four, then dove low in turn one, keeping his momentum the rest of the way to the checkers.

Tim Ward, with a last-second effort, took the runner-up spot, after starting ninth.  Brian Irvine started eleventh and took third, while Strayer and Snyder completed the top five.

The Class Too Tough to Tame, the IMCA Sunoco Stock Cars proved once again why that name sticks. Three-wide racing, sometimes more, was common through most of the 20-lap feature.

Dave Atcher claimed the top spot from Todd Reitzler at lap four, and was content to let the cars battle for position behind him. He started sixth and outran a stout field of cars in capturing the win. Steve Meyer came from 10th to finish as the runner up, Donavon Smith started eighth and took third, early leader Reitzler finished fourth and Trent Murphy was fifth.

Clint Luellen took top honors in the Karl Chevrolet Northern SportMod feature but had to hold off some hard charging competition. Luellen grabbed the lead from Jayme Duinink with a handful of laps in the books, and managed to fend off the pack to capture the win.

Jake McBirnie was second, just ahead of last week’s winner, Jared VanDeest, who had started 13th. Randy Roberts, the Frostbuster winner, came from ninth starting spot to finish fourth, and Cory Rose rounded out the top five.

Eric Stanton made it back-to-back wins in the IMCA Sunoco Hobby Stock division. He started tenth on the field, took command at lap eight, and sailed home to a comfortable win. Dustin Elliott finished second, Nathan Ballard came from ninth starting to third, and Garrett Eilander and David Simpson finished fourth and fifth, respectively.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply