Shawano packs the house for season-opening McBride Memorial 

By Scott Owen

SHAWANO, Wis. (April 16) ­– An amazing 152 cars and an absolutely packed grandstand were on hand for opening night of the 2016 season as well as to pay their respects to Shawano Speed­way legend M.J. McBride Saturday evening.

McBride, a seven-time track champion at Shawano who passed way this winter, was honored by the track and its competitors as part of an emotional opening ceremony. His son Dean car­ried the checkered flag around the track one final time in honor of his father.

Brad Lautenbach led the first two laps of the Xtreme Motor Sports IMCA Modified feature before suc­cumbing to the pressures of Marcus Yarie.  Lautenbach continued to follow Yarie until Eddie Muenster put his familiar number five car into second.

At this point in the race the best battle was for position in the top five as Muenster, Lautenbach, Andy Kleczka, Benji LaCrosse, and Johnny Whitman all vied for runner-up honors.  At the end it was Yarie in victory lane, with LaCrosse emerging in the battle for second. Kleczka, Muenster, and Whitman completed the top five.

Brandon Czarapata led from lap five to the finish in the IMCA Sunoco Stock Car feature. Jordan Barkholtz found his way around Kelsey Hayes for the lead and eventual Karl Chevrolet Northern SportMod victory.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply