Stuart Speedway crowns track champions 

By Josh Reynolds

STUART, Iowa (Aug. 30) – Regular season number 54 came to a close Sunday at Stuart Speed­way with the crowning of five track champions.

John Gill, Kody Havens, Brian Blessington, John Watson and Nick Roberts were the race winners on Plowman/Stanley Trenching Season Championship night with Jacob Reiter, Clint Luellen, Mar­cus Fagan, Watson and Roberts capturing the unofficial track titles.

The closest point battle of the season belonged to the IMCA Sunoco Hobby Stocks as Watson owned a three-point advantage coming into the night over Austin Luellen. Watson endured no drama on this night as he set sail and led every lap to take the win and the championship. Buck Schafroth finished second with Luellen third.

Roberts captured the Xtreme Motor Sports IMCA Modified finale and the track title ahead of Josh Gilman. Fagan ran a close second to Blessington while wrapping up the IMCA Sunoco Stock Car title.

Havens made his way to the front of the Karl Chevrolet Northern SportMod field on the fifth lap. Luellen accepted the back row challenge and was in second by lap eight. He was unable to catch Havens, however, and Jerry Hinton took the runner-up spot away on the 19th circuit.

Gill took over the lead on lap six on his way to the Mach-1 Sport Compact laurels. Reiter reigned as track champion.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply