Burbridge, Pippert score first wins of the season at Benton County Speedway

VINTON, Iowa (Aug. 23) – A pair of veteran drivers earned their first wins of the season Sunday night at Benton County Speedway.

Scott Pippert held off Damon Murty for top honors in the Ron-Da-Voo Lounge & Deli IMCA Stock Car division while Mike Burbridge raced to victory in the Cassill Motors IMCA Modifieds.

From the third row, Pippert chased front row starter Mike Galli for one circuit before stealing the lead on lap two. Damon Murty followed Pippert on the top side into second as the lead pair pulled away from the field.

Murty made numerous attempts to sneak beneath Pippert, however he was denied each time as Pippert raced to victory in the 16-lapper. Point leader Norman Chesmore finished third.

It took four laps for Mike Burbridge to find his way past pole-sitter Brandon Maitland when the 20-lap Modified feature went green. Burbridge ran the low groove past Maitland with Joe Docekal on his heels. The lead duo ran in that order until a pair of late restarts slowed action.

When racing resumed a final time with three laps to go, Tom Berry, Patrick Flannagan and Docekal tussled for the runner-up spot as Burbridge sped away to victory. Docekal held off Berry for second.

Danny Dvorak inherited the point for a lap 11 restart when leader Tony Olson was sidelined with mechanical problems in the 16-lap Karl Chevrolet Northern SportMod feature.

Dvorak held off a late charge from Curt Hilmer to score his third win of the season. Erick Knutsen raced to an impressive third place finish in only his third night in a SportMod, his first night in the division in Vinton.

Zach Swanson drove to his second win of the year in the 15-lap IMCA Sunoco Hobby Stock main. Swanson fought off pressure from Nathan Ballard early and then Brett Vanous late to score the win. Matt Brown made it past Vanous at the line to steal second.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply