RPM Speedway hosts fair races

By Mike Hughes

HAYS, Kan. (July 11-12) – RPM Speedway in Hays, KS, kicked off the 2015 Ellis County Fair with races on Saturday and Sunday, July 11-12, at the 3/8 mile oval.

Jerry Phillps took the early lead Sunday’s Xtreme Motor Sports IMCA Modified feature.  On the lap eight restart, Kyle Rohleder shot to the lead and held on for a repeat fair week trip to the winner’s circle.  Marty Clark charged back to second place, trailed by Dylan Sherfick.

The $1,000 victory put Rohleder on the ballot for the 2015 Fast Shafts All-Star Invitational.

Point leader Chad Sterling took the lead at the drop of the green in the IMCA Sunoco Stock Car main event before a caution waved on lap two. Jason Rogers chased down Sterling and took control on lap 12 and held off Sterling for the victory. Third place went to Jared Remus.

Daniel Gottschalk led all 20 laps in the Saturday Karl Chevrolet Northern SportMod main.

Tyrel Smith won the IMCA Sunoco Hobby Stock feature with Kyle Pfeifer glued to his back bumper all 20 laps. Pfeifer actually passed Smith for the lead on lap seven but the caution waved when Duane Wahrman spun, so the pass did not count as the field reverted back to the last completed lap.

Randy Murphy of Ellis led all 12 laps in the caution-free Mach-1 Sport Compact feature to make a return appearance in victory lane.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply