Droste delivers memorable win at Independence Motor Speedway

INDEPENDENCE, Iowa (June 13) – It was a storybook night for Budweiser IMCA Late Model driver Tyler Droste at Independence Motor Speedway.

Not only did Droste celebrate his 19th birthday in victory lane, but he did it with Late Model legends Gary Crawford, Ed Sanger and Curt Hansen on-hand to present the trophy in victory lane.

The three former drivers, who competed against Droste’s grandfather Red in the 1960s and 1970s, were in attendance to honor the memory of the speedway’s first promoter, Vern Weber, who passed away last winter.

Jerry King took the lead at the drop of the green and was pestered by Luke Pestka while Droste worked through the pack from a fifth row start.

Droste made his way into the top five on the 11th of 25 laps and powered into second before caution slowed action on the 20th circuit.

Droste made his way beneath King to steal the lead two laps later en route to his first Late Model win in Independence. King ran second ahead of Rick Wendling.

J. D. Auringer came from the same starting spot outside of row five in the 20-lapper for the Performance Bodies IMCA Modifieds.

Auringer ran the top groove around traffic while Mike Burbridge built a sizable lead from his pole position start.

Auringer made his way into second in just five laps and quickly cut into Burbridge’s lead. Auringer made his way into the lead at the 12 lap mark on his way to his second straight win. Ronn Lauritzen earned runner-up honors ahead of Burbridge.

Brett Vanous picked up the first win of his career in the Big Daddy Chassis IMCA Hobby Stock division.

Vanous was running second when leader Adam Speicher drifted off the top of the front stretch with six laps to go in that 15-lapper.

Vanous maintained the point for the remainder of the event to score the milestone win ahead of Speicher and Benji Irvine.

Jason Hocken led the entire 15-lap distance to earn his first win of the year in the Burco Sales IMCA Stock Car division. Hocken took the checkers ahead of Cole Mather and Jarod Weepie.

Lucas Lundry also led the entirety of the 15-lap Tenacity Graphics IMCA Northern SportMod feature to score his first win of the season. Lundry beat Tony Olson and Kevin Hurst to the checkers.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply