Woods returns to Abilene for Sprint Series of Texas feature win 

ABILENE, Texas (May 2) – Dustin Woods earned his Sprint Series of Texas career first feature at Abilene Speedway last May.

He earned his second when the tour for IMCA Eagle Motorsports RaceSaver Sprint Cars returned Saturday night.

Benefitting from changing track conditions and Reagan Reed’s ailing motor late in the contest, Woods finally gained the lead on the last of 20 laps.

He’d fallen back a couple spots after starting ninth, then steadily advanced into contention. Two restarts during the last five laps preceded his move to the outside around Reed.

“I was able to work the bottom of the track to my favor,” said Woods. “I was looking forward to racing with Reagan for the win but she had motor problems.”

Kenny Elwood, Danny Merrell and Rodney Henderson were second through fourth, respectively. Reed, who became the first female driver to win an SST feature last August at 281 Speedway, completed the top five.

Woods’ teammate Jason Howell won the previous series event at Boyd on April 3 but had to work and missed the Abilene show. If both qualify, they’ll start on the back row of the May 24 feature grid at Heart O’ Texas Speedway.

Feature results – 1. Dustin Woods; 2. Kenny Elwood; 3. Danny Merrell; 4. Rodney Henderson; 5. Reagan Reed; 6. Cody Whitworth; 7. Gary Kelley; 8. Josh Hanna; 9. Matt Etzelmiller; 10. Corey Mi­nor; 11. Mike Herring; 12. Adam Barr; 13. Kenny Venable; 14. Mark Klis Jr.; 15. Craig Woods; 16. David Munden; 17. Drew Wright; 18. Jerry Hammock; 19. Trevor Reed; 20. Ronnie Hender­son.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply