Ryan dominates Davenport opener 

By Mike McGuire

DAVENPORT, Iowa (May 1) – Davenport Speedway jump-started the 2015 point season in a big way on Friday night as 124 racers took part in the Koehler Electric sponsored season opener.

In the Petersen Plumbing & Heating IMCA Late Model action, Matt Ryan dominated the field. Ryan started on the pole and led all 25 laps despite a couple of late cautions. Ray Guss Jr., Andy Nezworski, and Jay Johnson all took turns in the runner-up position before Guss secured the spot. Nezworski finished third.

Tony Von Dresky topped a huge field of Milan Heating and Air IMCA Modifieds. Rich Smith led the first four laps. Bruce Hanford used the high side to take the lead on lap five. On lap seven, Von Dresky used the very bottom of the racetrack to get by Hanford and set sail for victory lane.

Hanford held on to finish second. Mitch Morris ran third.

Four heats and two ‘B’ features  were needed to whittle the main event field down to 24 starters.

Tony Olson made the trip from Cedar Rapids pay off with a win in the Hawkeye Auto IMCA North­ern SportMods. Olson started on the outside pole and led all 15 laps of the race. Defending track champion Bryce Garnhart finished second with Jarrett Franzen taking third.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply