Grabouski completes Spring Nationals sweep with Saturday checkers

BEATRICE, Neb. (March 14) – Jordan Grabouski brought the broom back to Beatrice Speed­way’s Spring Nationals Saturday night.

Grabouski completed his sweep of the weekend’s $2,000 to win IMCA Xtreme Motor Sports Modified main events by gaining the lead following a lap 17 restart and pulling away to the checkers.

He’s now a seven-time Spring Nationals winner. His latest victory was also his IMCA career 115th.

“This was definitely right up there as far as the top weekends I’ve had racing. There were a lot of good cars here,” Grabouski said. “It’s always great to win at your hometown track, especially with that many people in the grandstand. It was crazy how many people who were there.”

Grabouski had won his heat race after starting last and drew the pole for the 30-lap headliner. Jesse Sobbing was the leader early on before Clayton Christensen charged to the front.

A restart after midway helped open the door for Grabouski, who caught Christensen for the point before the yellow waved again. He led to the finish with Christensen, Sobbing, Eric Mahlik and Jimmy Gustin completing the top five.

Grabouski took home single Spring Nationals trophies in 2008, 2012 and last March. He was also a double winner in 2011.

The second night of the 22nd annual special brought 273 cars from nine states and Canada to Beatrice.

Tyler Frye outran Jake Krone and Steve Swarthout to the Karl Chevrolet Northern SportMod check­ers for his career fifth Spring Nationals victory. The win was also his division-leading 124th.

Elijah Zevenbergen and Cody Thompson both stood atop the Spring Nationals podium for the second time.

Zevenbergen was the IMCA Sunoco Stock CAR winner, ahead of Jason Rogers and Lance Borgman. Thompson scored the Mach-1 Sport Compact victory with Todd Tacheny in second and Mitchell Wachter third.

Jesse VanLaningham topped the IMCA Sunoco Hobby Stock main event. Russ Specht and Bill Bonnett rounded out the top three.

Feature Results

Modifieds – 1. Jordan Grabouski, Beatrice; 2. Clayton Christensen, Spencer, Iowa; 3. Jesse Sob­bing, Glenwood, Iowa; 4. Eric Mahlik, Green Bay, Wis.; 5. Jimmy Gustin, Marshalltown, Iowa; 6. Ricky Alvarado, Delta, Colo.; 7. Mike Densberger, Lincoln; 8. Jared Hoefelman, Columbus; 9. David Murray Jr., Oberlin, Kan.; 10. Jacob Anson, Albion; 11. Josh Gilman, Earlham, Iowa; 12. Josh Blumer, Marysville, Kan.; 13. Brian Mullen, Seymour, Wis.; 14. Cole Ferguson, Dexter, Iowa; 15. Rob VanMil, Barnesville, Minn.; 16. Nick Roberts, Des Moines, Iowa; 17. Josh Most, Red Oak, Iowa; 18. Corey Burch, Junction City, Kan.; 19. Aaron Krohn, Slayton, Minn.; 20. Jeremy Frenier, Fort Morgan, Colo.; 21. Steven Bowers Jr., Topeka, Kan.; 22. Jordy Nelson, Marysville, Kan.; 23. Justin Medler, Minot, N.D.; 24. Lyle Shepard, Manhattan, Kan.

Heat winners were Christensen, Gustin, Hoefelman, Grabouski, Ferguson, Mahlik, Roberts and Sobbing. Murray, Anson, Densberger and Nelson won the “B” features.

Stock Cars – 1. Elijah Zevenbergen, Ocheyedan, Iowa; 2. Jason Rogers, Selden, Kan.; 3. Lance Borgman, Beatrice; 4. Dustin Larson, Worthington, Minn.; 5. Jay Schmidt, Tama, Iowa; 6. Damon Murty, Chelsea, Iowa; 7. Casey Woken, Norton, Kan.; 8. Casey Werkmeister, North Platte; 9. Randy Killen, Des Moines, Iowa; 10. Chris Adams, McIntire, Iowa; 11. Ned Kalis, Wells, Minn.; 12. Dustin Schmidt, Fairbury; 13. Chris Palsrok, Sibley, Iowa; 14. Brendon LaBatte, Weyburn, Sask.; 15. Jim Larson, Rushmore, Minn.; 16. Nathan Wood, Sigourney, Iowa; 17. Zach Zentner, Cedar Rapids; 18. Kyle Vanover, Beatrice; 19. Jake Masters, Graettinger, Iowa; 20. Cody Clark, Yorktown, Iowa; 21. Randy Brands, Boyden, Iowa; 22. Jason Purvis, Boone, Iowa; 23. Andrew Altenburg, Truman, Minn.; 24. Kyle Frederick, Oconto Falls, Wis.

Heat winners were Vanover, Wood, Zevenbergen, Altenburg, Rogers and Clark. Masters, Woken and LaBatte won the “B” features.

Northern SportMods – 1. Tyler Frye, Belleville, Kan.; 2. Jake Krone, Beloit, Kan.; 3. Steve Swarthout, Beatrice; 4. Colby Heishman, Brooklyn, Iowa; 5. Clay Money, Penokee, Kan.; 6. Clint Luellen, Minburn, Iowa; 7. Todd Boulware, Jefferson, S.D.; 8. Gary Saathoff, Beatrice; 9. Matt Looft, Swea City, Iowa; 10. Mark Leiting, Lincoln; 11. Trent Roth, Columbus; 12. Shawn Cooney, Des Moines; 13. Karl Brewer, Vermillion, S.D.; 14. Darin Roepke, LeMars, Iowa; 15. Keagan Scott, Odebolt, Iowa; 16. Cameron Meyer, Pierce; 17. Blain Petersen, Essex, Iowa; 18. Ben Schultze, Algona, Iowa; 19. Kyle Prauner, Norfolk; 20. Jason Andrews, Estherville, Iowa; 21. Rick Rohr, Pickrell; 22. Lance Borgman, Beatrice; 23. Logan Scott, Odebolt, Iowa; 24. Benji Legg, Be­atrice.

Heat winners were Petersen, Frye, Swarthout, Krone, Cooney, Luellen, Heishman and Prauner. Keagan Scott, Boulware, Borgman and Logan Scott won the “B” features.

Hobby Stocks – 1. Jesse VanLaningham, Beatrice; 2. Russ Specht, Hastings; 3. Bill Bonnett, Knoxville, Iowa; 4. Adam Armstrong, Beatrice; 5. Brendon Stigge, Fairbury; 6. Jeremy Purdy, Bed­ford, Iowa; 7. Tyler Davis, Fairbury; 8. Derek Husted, Sioux City, Iowa; 9. Matt Hanson, Slay­ton, Iowa; 10. Ryan Roschewski, Beatrice; 11. Roy Armstrong, Beatrice; 12. Brock Beeter, Minot, N.D.; 13. Austin Luellen, Minburn, Iowa; 14. Jamie Songer, Ankeny, Iowa; 15. Shawn Slezak, Milli­gan; 16. Kyle Pfeifer, Hill City, Kan.; 17. Shay Simoneau, Damer, Kan.; 18. Cody Dignan, Burling­ton, N.D.; 19. Eric Cross, Salina, Kan.; 20. Tyler Saathoff, Hickman; 21. Jeremy Wegner, Graettinger, Iowa; 22. John Watson, Des Moines, Iowa; 23. Brian Stich, Topeka, Kan.; 24. Neil Forsberg, Slayton, Minn.

Heat winners were Stigge, Luellen, VanLaningham and Roy Armstrong. Simoneau and Slezak won the “B” features.

Sport Compacts – 1. Cody Thompson, Sioux City, Iowa; 2. Todd Tacheny, Mankato, Minn.; 3. Mitchell Wachter, Weeping Water; 4. Ramsey Meyer, Pierce; 5. R.J. Maas, Wilber; 6. Scott Spell­meier, Beatrice; 7. Tyler Thompson, Sioux City, Iowa; 8. Drew Johnson, Sioux City, Iowa; 9. Jay DeVries, Spencer, Iowa; 10. John Gill, Marshalltown, Iowa; 11. Danny Sassman Jr., Fort Dodge, Iowa; 12. Kaytee DeVries, Spencer, Iowa; 13. Ed Thompson, Sioux City, Iowa; 14. Mick Rykhus, Manhattan, Kan.; 15. Cole Krichau, Lincoln; 16. Kyle Owen, Nebraska City; 17. Michael Rice, Elmwood; 18. Joe Bunkofske, Armstrong, Iowa; 19. Tom Powell, Hickman; 20. Elmer Rolfes, Mer­rill, Iowa; 21. Nate Coopman, Mankato, Minn.; 22. Neal Reynolds, Onawa, Iowa; 23. Dillon Rich­ards, Beatrice; 24. Brooke Fluckiger, Columbus.

Heat winners were Cody Thompson, Rykhus, Tyler Thompson and Tacheny. Gill and Johnson won the “B” features.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply