Grabouski tops IMCA Modified feature for career sixth Spring Nationals title

BEATRICE, Neb. (March 13) – After shaking down a new car in practice on Thursday, Jordan Grabouski got back to his regular business of winning Spring Nationals features at Beatrice Speedway on Friday.

Grabouski led the last 25 of 30 laps in topping the opening night $2,000 to win main event for IMCA Xtreme Motor Sports Modifieds. The Spring Nationals checkers were his career sixth and came on a night when 234 cars from nine states and Canada saw action.

“Everything played out good for us. We shook down a new GRT in practice, then won our heat race from the fourth row, so we started good (third) in the main event,” Grabouski said following career victory number 114 in the division. “It’s always good to start your season with a win.”

Jesse Dennis, Jeremy Leiting, Jesse Sobbing and Ricky Alvarado completed the top five. The feature ran caution-free and Grabouski had nearly a straightaway lead before encountering slower traffic in the late going.

Grabouski had raced his way onto the Fast Shafts All-Star Invitational ballot last fall by winning the September Fest feature at Beatrice.

Damon Murty drove from 17th starting to win the IMCA Sunoco Stock Car main event. Jason Rogers and Casey Werkmeister completed the top three.

Nick Meyer scored Karl Chevrolet Northern SportMod honors ahead of Tyler Frye and Delbert Smith.

Adam Armstrong repeated as the IMCA Sunoco Hobby Stock Spring Nationals winner. Second was Jesse VanLaningham and Shawn Slezak was third.

The same four divisions, plus the Mach-1 Sport Compacts, are on the Saturday program at Beatrice. Racing begins at 6 p.m.

Feature Results

Modifieds – 1. Jordan Grabouski, Beatrice; 2. Jesse Dennis, Prescott, Iowa; 3. Jeremy Leiting, Valparaiso; 4. Jesse Sobbing, Glenwood, Iowa; 5. Ricky Alvarado, Delta, Colo.; 6. Brian Mullen, Seymour, Wis.; 7. Luke Wanninger, Minburn, Iowa; 8. Jared Hoefelman, Columbus; 9. Jordy Nelson, Marysville, Kan.; 10. Eddie Belec, Lakewood, Colo.; 11. David Murray Jr., Oberlin, Kan.; 12. Josh Gilman, Earlham, Iowa; 13. Hunter Marriott, Brookfield, Mo.; 14. Jacob Anson, Albion; 15. Ronn Lauritzen, Jesup, Iowa; 16. Dave Shipley, Argusville, N.D.; 17. Eric Mahlik, Green Bay, Wis.; 18. Travis Hagen, Williston, N.D.; 19. Anthony Roth, Columbus; 20. Mike Petersilie, Hoisington, Kan.; 21. Jesse Richter, West Bend, Kan.; 22. Rob VanMil, Barnesville, Minn.; 23. Lyle Shepard, Manhattan, Kan.; 24. Justin Medler, Minot, N.D.

Heat winners were Nelson, Alvarado, Dennis, Lauritzen, Hoefelman, Grabouski, Leiting and Wanninger. “B” feature winners were Mahlik, Murray, Richter and Shipley.

Stock Cars – 1. Damon Murty, Chelsea, Iowa; 2. Jason Rogers, Selden, Kan.; 3. Casey Werkmeister, North Platte; 4. Derek Green, Granada, Minn.; 5. Jay Schmidt, Tama, Iowa; 6. Casey Woken, Ogallala; 7. Jake Masters, Graettinger, Iowa; 8. Chris Adams, McIntire, Iowa; 9. Chris Pruitt, Stuart, Iowa; 10. Kyle Frederick, Oconto Falls, Wis.; 11. Jim Larson, Rushmore, Minn.; 12. Marcus Fagan, Adair, Iowa; 13. Randy Brands, Boyden, Iowa; 14. Nathan Wood, Sigourney, Iowa; 15. Ned Kalis, Wells, Minn.; 16. Michael McClure, Bloomfield, Iowa; 17. Jason See, Albia, Iowa; 18. Brandon Conkwright, Wamego, Kan.; 19. Brent Alverson, Oskaloosa, Kan.; 20. Dustin Larson, Worthington, Minn.; 21. Jon Courchaine, Pound, Wis.; 22. Cody Clark, Yorktown, Iowa; 23. Brendon LaBatte, Weyburn, Sask.; 24. Kyle Vanover, Beatrice.

Heat winners were Jim Larson, Werkmeister, Masters, Schmidt, Frederick and Green. “B” feature winners were Fagan, Brands and Adams.

Northern SportMods – 1. Nick Meyer, Whittemore, Iowa; 2. Tyler Frye, Belleville, Kan.; 3. Delbert Smith, Wichita, Kan.; 4. Lance Borgman, Beatrice; 5. Gary Saathoff, Beatrice; 6. Jerry Hinton, Adel, Iowa; 7. Dusty Blake, Belvidere; 8. Jake Krone, Beloit, Kan.; 9. Matt Haase, Norfolk; 10. Ben Schultze, Algona, Iowa; 11. Jason Andrews, Estherville, Iowa; 12. Todd Boulware, Jefferson, S.D.; 13. Nelson Vollbrecht, Stanton; 14. Clint Luellen, Minburn, Iowa; 15. Clay Money, Penokee, Kan.; 16. Mary Lenz, Elmwood; 17. Taylor Musselman, Norwalk, Iowa; 18. Rick Rohr, Pickrell; 19. Arie Schouten, Blair; 20. Sam Wieben, Dysart, Iowa; 21. Matt Looft, Swea City, Iowa; 22. Brian Konze, LeMars, Iowa; 23. Austin Carter, Jamestown, Kan.; 24. Cameron Meyer, Pierce.

“B” feature winners were Carter, Konze, Vollbrecht and Money. Heat winners were Schultze, Frye, Hinton, Smith, Blake, Saathoff, Borgman and Meyer.

Hobby Stocks – 1. Adam Armstrong, Beatrice; 2. Jesse VanLaningham, Beatrice; 3. Shawn Slezak, Milligan; 4. Brock Beeter, Minot, N.D.; 5. Jeremy Purdy, Bedford, Iowa; 6. Roy Armstrong, Beatrice; 7. Ryan Roschewski, Beatrice; 8. Drew Barglof, Sioux Rapids, Iowa; 9. Kyle Pfeifer, Hill City, Kan.; 10. Tyler Davis, Fairbury; 11. Eric Stanton, Carlisle, Iowa; 12. Austin Luellen, Minburn, Iowa; 13. John Watson, Des Moines, Iowa; 14. Jamie Songer, Ankeny, Iowa; 15. Brian Stich, Topeka, Kan.; 16. Brent Schlake, Blue Springs; 17. Tyler Saathoff, Hickman; 18. Russ Specht, Hastings; 19. Derek Husted, Sioux City, Iowa; 20. Bill Bonnett, Knoxville, Iowa; 21. Tommy Fose, Salina, Kan.; 22. Tyler Pospisil, Fulda, Minn.; 23. Shay Simoneau, Damer, Kan.; 24. Brendon Stigge, Fairbury.

Heat winners were Beeter, Slezak, Adam Armstrong and Stigge. “B” feature winners were Husted and Saathoff.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply