Dart hits milestone with 50th IMCA Modified win at Thunderhill

By Edward Anschutz

STURGEON BAY, Wis. (June 14) – Todd Dart reigned supreme with his third IMCA Xtreme Motor Sports Modified feature win of the season Saturday at Thunderhill Raceway.

One of Thunderhill’s most decorated racers added another milestone to his storied career. Early on it was Tyler Hackett pacing the field from his front row starting spot. Hackett battled mechanical gremlins the first month of the season and traced the problem to a crushed float in the carburetor. Now running up to snuff, he worked the low groove with Dart and James Tebon giving chase.

Dart enjoyed the virtue of another great racing surface has he hammered the cushion, reeling in and passing Hackett before midway.

Tebon worked to the runner-up spot but was never able to challenge.Dart cruised to his 50th IMCA Modified victory at Thunderhill in front of a roaring crowd. Dart now sits tied with Charlie Kroll for most all-time wins. Tebon was second, followed by Hackett, Greg Gretz and Chuck Carmin.

Veteran driver Tony Bouche led the opening laps of the IMCA Sunoco Stock Car headliner. His lead was wiped away on lap three as Billy LeMieux raced around the outside and to the lead.

LeMieux then stretched the lead to a straightaway advantage. Tony’s nephew Dave raced three-wide to third and set his sites on his uncle for the second spot. A caution on lap 17 saw Shawn Havel head to the pits with motor failure.

On the restart, LeMieux was able to hold the competition at bay while wheeling away to his second Stock Car win in a row. Dave Bouche held on for second.

For the second week in a row Cody Rass took top honors in the Karl Chevrolet Northern SportMods. Rass led from the drop of the green and was never challenged in the caution-free 20 lap main.
Derek Moede passed brother Marcus Moede for the lead on lap six of the IMCA Sunoco Hobby Stock feature. Derek then withstood a solid challenge by Scott Boulanger to earn his first win of the season.

Next Saturday, June 21 will be the second annual Terry Simon Memorial.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply