Garst Memorial checkers fly for Grabouski

By Bill Grit

MAYETTA, Kan. (May 31) – A regular visitor to victory lanes around the region took top honors at Thunder Hill Speedway’s 20th annual Don Garst Memorial Saturday night.

Jordan Grabouski caught Justin Becker, then held off Clay Hale in lapped traffic to top a 20-lap feature for IMCA Xtreme Motor Sports Modifieds that ran without caution and paid $1,020 to win.

Already on the Fast Shafts All-Star Invitational ballot, Grabouski was followed across the stripe by Hale, Matt Stallbaumer, Cory Wray and Danny Holt.

Garst was the first flagman at Thunder Hill and the Modified feature was flagged by his grandson Tyler, using Don’s flags.

Lance Brogman withstood a couple late restarts to win the IMCA Sunoco Stock Car feature, ahead of Matt Haid and Brian LaBonte.

After negotiating lapped traffic in the IMCA Sunoco Hobby Stock feature, Adam Armstrong was the winner with Jesse VanLaningham second and early leader Brian Stich third.

Dusty Leonard became the Karl Chevrolet Northern SportMod winner after disqualification of the initial first-place car in post-race tech. Jeremy Pittsenbarger was second and third went to Dustin Crist.

Brandon Lobdell, Kiowa Higdon and Toby Teel ran 1-2-3 in the Mach-1 Sport Compact main event.

The longest running special at Mayetta, the Garst Memorial drew 95 competitors vying for addi­tional prize monies provided by the Garst family and sponsors.

Gift certificates for discounts on shock packages and stickers from BSB Manufacturing were given to all racers in the Modified, Stock Car and Northern SportMod divisions. Fast Shafts by Axle Exchange provided stickers to all racers as well as Fast Shaft t-shirts that went to the non-qualifiers and the winner of the Modified main event. Great Plains Hoosier Tire/Precise Racing donated additional gift cards that were also distributed to non-qualifiers.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply