Shute scores IMCA Modified Frostbuster honors at Boone

BOONE, Iowa (April 19) – Todd Shute shot to the front and made short work of his IMCA Xtreme Motor Sports Modified foes in Saturday’s Frostbuster feature at Boone Speedway.
A single caution interrupted the 25-lapper. Eventual runner-up Troy Cordes stayed close on the initial green and then again on the restart, but Shute was unchallenged most of the distance in the $1,000 to win event.

The defending Fast Shafts All-Star Invitational winner, Shute made the most of the high line and had no lapped traffic to slow him down. Mark Elliott, Russ Dickerson and Jimmy Gustin completed the top five.

Also winning Frostbuster features postponed from April 5 and again from April 12 were Donavon Smith in the IMA Sunoco Stock Cars and Mike Pruitt in the IMCA Sunoco Hobby Stocks.
Jerry Gifford led the opening laps of the Stock Car main, soon to be joined by Smith, Randy Brands and Wayne Gifford. Brands was eliminated from the tussle when he had to retire to the infield but the jousting continued with Josh Daniels, Trent Murphy and Bob Daniels joining in.

Smith managed to pull off the pass for the lead with three laps remaining, put distance between himself and second, and secured the win. Jerry Gifford took the runner up spot. Third through fifth were a real tossup in the waning moments, with Daniels scored in third, fourth going to Wayne Gifford and Daniels finishing fifth.

After starting from the pole, Pruitt found himself chasing John Watson for the Hobby Stock lead. Watson was faster out of turn four while Pruitt had the edge out of two, finally regaining the front spot on lap four.

The fast-paced 15-lapper saw just one caution, when the yellow waved just after midway. Watson kept Pruitt out of his comfort zone but couldn’t shake him from the lead. Austin Luellen, Eric Stanton and Bill Richards ended third through fifth, respectively.

Smith’s victory paid $500, Pruitt’s $250.

Ben Kates won last Saturday’s Frostbuster for Karl Chevrolet Northern SportMods and made it two straight at Boone by taking the regular season opening checkers.
Also winning scheduled features were Dennis Pittman in the Modifieds, Jerry Gifford in the Stocks and Shannon Anderson in the Hobbies.

Pittman’s victory was his IMCA career 68th and sanctioned first since 2009. A total of 171 cars saw action Saturday at Boone.

Frostbuster Feature Results

Modifieds – 1. Todd Shute; 2. Troy Cordes; 3. Mark Elliott; 4. Russ Dickerson; 5. Jimmy Gustin; 6. Adam Larson; 7. Ronn Lauritzen; 8. Racer Hulin; 9. Justin Sackett; 10. Kyle Krampe; 11. John Logue; 12. Kyle Brown; 13. Cole Ferguson; 14. Jason Wolla; 15. 
Nick Roberts; 16. Jacob Murray; 17. Regan Tafoya; 18. Jon Snyder; 19. Jared Siefert; 20. Scott Davis; 21. Johnny Whitman; 22. Jim Thies
; 23. Troy Jerovetz; 24. Eric Sinness.

Stock Cars – 1. Donavon Smith; 2. Jerry Gifford; 3. Josh Daniels; 4. Wayne Gifford; 5. Bob Daniels; 6. Trent Murphy; 7. Marcus Fagan
; 8. Jay Schmidt; 9. Robert Stofer; 10. Mike Goldsberry; 11. Chris Pruitt; 12. Terry Pruitt; 13. Rod Richards; 14. Rusty Gyles; 15. Craig Carlson; 16. Norman Belew; 17. Andrew Knode; 18. Randy Brands; 19. Ben Walding; 20. 
K.C. Ansel
; 21. Stefan Klym; 22. 
Eric Brown
; 23. Kevin Balmer; 24. Sterling LaBatte; 25. Brendon LaBatte; 26. Jim Lynch.

Hobby Stocks – 1. Mike Pruitt; 2. John Watson; 3. Austin Luellen; 4. Eric Stanton; 5. Bill Richards
; 6. Tim Barber; 7. Aaron Rudolph; 8. Matt Hudspeth; 9. Dustin Graham; 10. Mike Powell; 11. Andrew Burg; 12. Ross Marshall; 13. Dustin Lynch; 14. Matt McDonald; 15. Shaun Wirtz; 16. Cody Gustoff; 17. Cory Adams; 18. Darren Schatz; 19. Destiny Klym; 20. Jamie Songer; 21. Trevor Holm
; 22. Brock Beeter; 23. Dana Brandt; 24. Garrett Eilander; 25. Ross Marshall
; 26. Dana Brandt

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply