Cameron holds off Kuehn in Stock Cars at Winston

WINSTON, Mo. (Sept. 21) – Jake Cameron scored a close win in the IMCA Sunoco Stock Car division at I-35 Speedway.

Cameron and Greg Kuehn battled wheel-to-wheel for the entire race with Cameron edging Keuhn by a mere car-length at the line to take the feature victory. Point leader Dean Wray was third with Brad Whitney and Gene Stigall rounding out the top five.

With cautions plaguing the early going of the Karl Chevrolet IMCA Northern SportMod feature, several cars found the pits and did not return to action. When the smoke cleared, a familiar face found victory lane for the third time this season. Jeremy Pittsenbarger picked up the feature victory while holding off the hard charge of Mitch Booher.

Josh Barnes held off Mathew Webb to finish third. Caleb Dennis recovered from an early race encounter to round out the top five.

IMCA Sunoco Hobby Stock newcomer Scott Treadwell tasted victory for the very first time. Lee Farmer took the lead with three laps to go, only to have lapped traffic come into play, allowing Treadwell to capitalize. Tredwell took advantage to beat Farmer to the checkers.

Point leader Mich Ross stormed to the front from a third row inside starting spot to place third. Tyson Overton finished fourth ahead of Josh Adkins.

The IMCA Xtreme Motor Sports Modifieds saw Jim Peeler jump out to an early lead from an outside front row starting position. Peeler led most of the race until Bud Wilson used turns three and four to perfection on his way to pick up the feature win.

Wilson was challenged by Buz Kaster, who ran out of laps and finished second. Peeler finished a strong third with John Hanson fourth. Johnny McGinnis finished a solid fifth.

Houston Johnson topped the grand national feature and Bobby Layne won in sprint cars.

I-35 Speedway thanks all of its loyal fans for coming out to enjoy this great night of racing action. Intermission witnessed our first ever “Worn out tire race” with 10 kids racing down the front straight while pushing an old tire. Fun was had by all with trophies going to all those who participated.

Everyone is invited back next week for championship night. Track champions will be crowned in all divisions with special recognition by the flag stand.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply