Koop captures last-chance feature for Hobby Stocks

BOONE, Iowa (Sept. 4) – Weston Koop led all 25 laps in winning Wednesday’s last-chance quali­fier for Hobby Stocks at Boone Speedway.

The top six finishers advance to the IMCA Speedway Motors Super Nationals fueled by Casey’s main event on Saturday evening. Koop, Brian Happel, Drew Barglof, Kyle Bond, Cory Ganson and Brent Schlake fill the remaining spots on the 30-car grid.

Koop drew the pole and held off all challengers through four restarts, the last yellow coming with six cir­cuits left.
John Watson had worked to a qualifying spot after starting 19th but exited with a flat tire following that caution.
Bond and Schlake both qualified for their career Hobby Stock main events. Koop, Happel, Barglof and Ganson all are first-timers.

Feature results – 1. Weston Koop, Rockwell; 2. Brian Happel, Van Horne; 3. Drew Barglof, Sioux Rapids; 4. Kyle Bond, Gibbon, Neb.; 5. Cory Ganson, Clear Lake; 6. Brent Schlake, Blue Springs, Neb.; 7. Chad Legere, Des Moines; 8. Travis Coop, Portis, Kan.; 9. Shawn Slezak, Milli­gan, Neb.; 10. William Woehler, South Sioux City, Neb.; 11. Seth Janssen, Ogden; 12. Noah Ludwig, Logan; 13. Trevor Holm, Edgerton, Minn.; 14. Dustin Tapp, Ames; 15. Chris Jensen, Des Moines; 16.Jake Pemberton, Central City, Neb.; 17. Justin Nehring, Storm Lake; 18. Aaron Ru­dolph, Grand Junction; 19. John Watson, Des Moines; 20. Brandon Nielsen, Spencer; 21. Justin Wacha, Vinton; 22. Tyler Pickett, Boxholm; 23. Andy Hoffman, Sioux City; 24. Dustin Van Horn, Atlantic; 25. Matt Hudspeth, Granger; 26. Cory Adams, Des Moines; 27. Rodney Manthey, Nor­wood, Minn.; 28. Nathan Ballard, Marengo; 29. Garrett Eilander, Newton; 30. Jim Ball, Jr., Independ­ence.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply