VanDenBerg earns SportMod pole with late pass

BOONE, Iowa (Sept. 2) – A first-time qualifier for the main event will start his bid for an IMCA Speedway Motors Super Nationals fueled by Casey’s crown from the pole come Saturday night.

Carter VanDenBerg gained the lead late in the Labor Day qualifying feature for Karl Chevrolet Northern SportMods, then held off Tim Love to win by a couple car lengths.

VanDenBerg had been a spectator for the Late Model main event earlier in the evening and watched Jeff Aikey race from ninth to first. He started 11th and also used the high groove in moving steadily toward and eventually to first.
Following VanDenBerg and Love across the stripe and into Saturday’s show were Paul Nagle, Kyle Prauner, Jerry Hinton, Nate Whitehurst, Doug Cook and Johnathon Logue.

Nagle and Cook are the only previous qualifiers from Monday’s top eight. Both will be in the main event for the second time.

Feature results – 1. Carter VanDenBerg, Oskaloosa; 2. Tim Love, Kelley; 3. Paul Nagle, Nevada; 4. Kyle Prauner, Norfolk,
 Neb.; 5. Jerry Hinton, Adel; 6. Nate Whitehurst, Mason City; 7. Doug Cook, Algona; 8. Johnathon Logue, Boone; 9. Josh 
Appel, Dodge City, Kan.; 10. Tyler Frye, Belleville, Kan.; 11. Randy Ainsworth, Excelsior Springs, Mo.; 12. Jim Gillenwater,
 Keokuk; 13. Josh Long, Little Suamico, Wis.; 14. Justin Zimmerman, Cedar Rapids; 15. Rick Ringgenberg, Kelley; 16.
 Jesse Levin, Salina, Kan.; 17. Doug Smith, Rockwell City; 18. Justin Medler, Minot, N.D.; 19. Bruce Egeland, Marshall,
 Minn.; 20. Mike Stark, West Des Moines; 21. Levi Chipp, Latimer; 22. Coty Albers, Wellsburg; 23. Ty Luellen, Minburn;
 24. Eric Flander, Barnes City; 25. Jerry Hoffman, Oronogo, Mo.; 26. Tyler Afrank, Norfolk, Neb.; 27. Tracy Wassenberg,
 Shawano, Wis.; 28. Brian Miller, Grand Junction; 29. Jason Wagoner, Iowa Falls; 30. Andy Tiernan, Madrid.

Can’t make the 2013 Speedway Motors IMCA Super Nationals fueled by XSAN? Then watch every lap LIVE on XSAN at:

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply