Champions crowned at Eagle

imca_fi_weeklyBy Greg Soukup

EAGLE, Neb. (Aug. 24) – Dylan Smith got the Kaplan University IMCA Modified feature win along with his second straight track title Saturday at Eagle Raceway.

Smith took over the front position with nine laps down. Mike Densberger passed Nathan Landauer on the low side for second with two laps left and Chris Ableson got past Landauer on the final circuit for third.

Jason Martin won the IMCA Eagle Motorsports RaceSaver Sprint Car feature for the second straight week while runner-up Mike Boston secured his career seventh track title.

Martin moved to the lead on lap nine. Boston settled into second for good on lap 14.

Shawn Harker held on for the NAPA IMCA Northern SportMod victory with Joe Feyen, Dan Kovar and Benji Legg second through fourth. Gary Saaathoff ended in 11th and won his second championship.

The Valentino’s IMCA Hobby Stock Main ended with R.J. Macku in first, chased by Garrett Bolander, John Cain and Robbie Brown. The season championship went again to Roy Armstrong, who was fifth.

Chad Bassinger got past Matt Moyer with three laps to go, then moved up a lane on the track to take over Moyer’s line and held on for the win Sam’s Club IMCA Sport Compact win. Although he finished second, Moyer had the slightest of margins and won the point championship.

Justin Olsen and Amanda Rhiley completed the top four.

The inaugural Sprint Super Nationals are Saturday and Sunday, Aug. 31 and Sept. 1.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply