Murray County Speedway hosts Friday Sprint Series of Minnesota show

SLAYTON, Minn. – Murray County Speedway rolls out the red carpet for the first of three visits this season by the Sprint Series of Minnesota on Friday, June 14.  IMCA RaceSaver Sprint Cars vie for $500 to win and a minimum of $150 to start. IMCA Speedway Motors Weekly Racing National, E3 Spark Plugs State and special series points will be awarded; there is no entry fee.  Miller Sellner Case IH is sponsor for the evening’s program, which also features IMCA Modifieds, IMCA Sunoco Stock Cars, IMCA Sunoco Hobby Stocks, Karl Kustoms Northern SportMods and Mach-1 Sport Compacts.  Pit gates open at 5:30 p.m., the grandstand opens at 6 p.m. and hot laps are at 7:15 p.m., with racing to follow. Spectator admission is $12 for adults, $8 for students ages 11-17 and free for 10 and under. Pit passes are $30.  The series returns to Slayton for July 5 and Aug. 2 shows.  More information about all three events is available from promoter Aaron Betz at 507 227-8575. 


Allen aces Arlington foes in Sprint Series of Minnesota

ARLINGTON, Minn. (May 25) – A former tour champion was back in victory lane following Saturday’s Sprint Series of Minnesota main event at Arlington Raceway.  Brandon Allen put on a passing clinic in topping the IMCA RaceSaver Sprint Car feature. Allen, the 2015 tour king, took charge after an early restart, checking out of the rest of the 17-car field before taking the win ahead of Neil Stevens and Billy Johnson. Clint Hatlestad won the MN 93 IMCA Modified feature and the B&B Racing Chassis IMCA Stock Car features saw Chad Schroeder hold off Matt Schauer for the checkers.  Cory Probst paced the Eckblad Trucking IMCA Hobby Stocks and 10th starting Eric Larson topped the Unhinged Pizza IMCA Northern SportMods. The Coors Light IMCA Sport Compact feature saw Marschall Robinson in victory lane after leading the last two laps.  Feature results – 1. Brandon Allen; 2. Neil Stevens; 3. Billy Johnson; 4. Brett Allen; 5. Michael Stien; 6.  Justin Allen; 7.  Zach Glaser; 8. Trevor Serbus; 9. Javen Ostermann; 10. Jesse Cripe; 11. Nathan Showalter; 12. Jeremy [Read More]