Norman County, Red River Valley host $800 to win Sanders IMCA Stock Car Challenge features

ADA, Minn. – Sanders Stock Car Challenge winners will be living high on the hog July 29 at Norman County Raceway and July 30 at Red River Valley Speedway. IMCA Sunoco Stock Car features Thursday at Ada, Minn., and Friday at West Fargo, N.D., both pay $800 to win and a minimum of $120 to start. The winners of both become eligible to qualify for the B & B Chassis All-Star Invitational and the driver winning both nights earns a $200 Clean Sweep bonus. Entry fee is $30. Pit passes are $30 and $10 for kids ages six and under both nights. IMCA Modifieds, IMCA Sunoco Hobby Stocks and Karl Kustoms Northern SportMods run both nights; IMCA RaceSaver Sprint Cars are also on the Friday program, as is a meet and greet with Stock Car contestants. Pit gates open at 3:30 p.m., the grandstand opens at 5:30 p.m. and racing starts at 7 p.m. at Norman County, where spectator admission is $15 for adults, $10 for veterans and active military with ID and free for kids 12 and [Read More]


IMCA RaceSaver Sprint Cars racing into Red River, Norman County history books

WEST FARGO, N.D. – IMCA RaceSaver Sprint Car history will be made this season at Red River Valley Speedway in West Fargo, N.D. and sister track Norman County Raceway in Ada, Minn. Red River becomes the first track in North Dakota to sanction the division weekly with IMCA, running Friday nights from May 7 to Aug. 27. Norman County adds the Sprints for its 103rd season, to run Thursdays from June 10 to Aug. 26.  The winged class joins IMCA Modifieds, IMCA Sunoco Stock Cars, IMCA Sunoco Hobby Stocks and Karl Kustoms Northern SportMods on IMCA Speedway Motors Weekly Racing programs at both tracks.  “We have followed the IMCA RaceSaver Sprint Cars for about three years now. We’ve watched them race, we have a friend who races them and we’ve had drivers ask about them. We decided about last August to sanction them this year,” promoter Jake Bitker said. “RaceSaver Sprint Cars are a good complement to our other IMCA divisions and have a black and white set of rules. It’s a good class for drivers [Read More]


Former champs top Dakota Tour openers

WEST FARGO, N.D. (July 10) – Two former champions were feature winners for the Friday night lidlifter at Red River Valley Speedway.  Ricky Thornton Jr., the 2015 Modified and defending Stock Car king, started ninth and motored to the $2,400 IMCA Modified checkers.  Already on the Fast Shafts All-Star Invitational ballot, Thornton led Tyler Hall, Austin Arneson, Alex Stanford and Jake O’Neil to the finish.  And Elijah Zevenbergen began adding to the IMCA Sunoco Stock Car Tour legacy of his own as the five-time tour champion started from the pole and took that $1,000 win ahead of Eric Mahlik.  Rob VanMil, Joe Flory and Travis Ulmer were next across the stripe. Feature Results Modifieds – 1. Ricky Thornton Jr.; 2. Tyler Hall; 3. Austin Arneson; 4. Alex Stanford; 5. Jake O’Neil; 6. Tripp Gaylord; 7. Grey Ferrando; 8. Casey Arneson; 9. Justin O’Brien; 10. Billy Kendall III; 11. Jason Wolla; 12. Brad Hartigan; 13. Tanner Black; 14. Allen Kent; 15. Dylan Goplen; 16. John Nord; 17. Cody Laney; 18. John Hansen; 19. Jesse Skalicky; 20. Eddie [Read More]


Red River Valley, Norman County host Sanders Modified Challenge Tour dates

WEST FARGO, N.D. – IMCA Modifieds take to the track in $1,300 to win, Fast Shafts All-Star Invitational ballot qualifying features on both nights of the Sanders Modified Challenge Tour. Events Wednesday, Aug. 8 at Red River Valley Speedway in West Fargo, N.D., and Thursday, Aug. 9 at Norman County Raceway in Ada, Minn., are draw/redraw and pay $1,100 for second and $1,000 for third. Minimum start money is $200. IMCA Speedway Motors Weekly Racing National, Side Biter Chassis North Central and Minnesota State points, but no track points will be awarded. Out-Pace Racing Products gives a $100 hard charger award. Both shows will be broadcast by IMCA.TV and pork chops will be served in the pit area after the race program is complete at Ada. Pit gates open at 3:30 p.m., the grandstand opens at 5:30 p.m., the draw cutoff is at 6:30 p.m. and racing starts at 7 p.m. both nights. Car and driver is $30. More information is posted on the track websites.