Munoz hustles from 20th to checkers at El Paso Co. IMCA Stock Car Showdown

CALHAN, Colo. (July 22, 2022) – He isn’t a fan of bullrings but Angel Munoz sure knows how to get around them in a hurry. Munoz started 20th and raced his way to the front of the Colorado IMCA Sunoco Stock Car Showdown field at El Paso County Raceway, earning $2,000 for the Friday night feature win at Calhan. “I’m not a big fan of bullrings but we do good at ‘em,” said Munoz, more partial to the big tracks of western Kansas. “I’d only raced here once before, in 2016, and we won $1,000 that night.” He’d won his heat but was disqualified when post-race tech found the right rear shock measurement off by a quarter of an inch. “I’d changed a spring right before the heat and didn’t compensate. Rules are rules,” Munoz said following his big charge to the front. “The track had a lot of character. You had to be patient but cowboy up at the same time. The cards just played out in our favor and the gaps were there [Read More]


El Paso County Raceway primed for April 23 opening night

CALHAN, Colo. – BST Promotions is excited to bring the 2022 IMCA Speedway Motors Weekly Race Season to El Paso County Raceway for yet another year of the fastest dirt track racing in the area. Starting Saturday, April 23 and running until Sept. 24, the 2022 EPCR race season is full of action. Heat races will start at 5 p.m. and the fast-paced main events will run from 7-10 p.m. Regular race programs feature IMCA Sunoco Stock Cars, IMCA Sunoco Hobby Stock, IMCA Northern SportMods and Mach-1 Sport Compacts. BST will also host two test and tune sessions before the season begins, on April 2 and April 9 and track officials encourage drivers and crews to come out and get some laps in, get registered and safety inspected, and check out this year’s competition.  The 2022 season will be an exciting one for fans as the United Rebel Winged Sprint Cars come to Colorado for the first time in more than four years and will kick off the season right with our April 23 Winged Sprint [Read More]


Young rookies rule El Paso County Raceway

By Anna Spinuzzi CALHAN, Colo. (May 8) – Last Saturday was a night full of action-packed IMCA dirt racing and a night full of firsts at El Paso County Raceway. After a brief rain delay fans were treated to a night full of upsets when four IMCA racing divisions saw first-time track winners, including three young first-time feature winners, which was a first for the track itself.  In a night full of surprises, the night’s youngest winner was 14-year-old Hunter Smith in his 10th career start as he drove away with the checkered flag in the competitive IMCA Sunoco Hobby Stock division. Smith is making an impressive run at being the 2021 rookie of the year with 50 shows planned. Smith’s run was at risk after ripping off the rear suspension while racing the night before in Colby, Kan. His crew pulled it off and got him on track for his first feature win Saturday at El Paso and on track for the rookie title.  Another young surprise in the Mach-1 Sport Compact division was from a [Read More]


Colorado Alliance Tour comes to Calhan for El Paso County Raceway opener

CALHAN, Colo. – Five IMCA divisions are on the Saturday, April 24 race night card, when the Colorado Alliance Tour comes to town for the season opening show at El Paso County Raceway. The second CAT weekend of the season brings IMCA Modifieds, IMCA Sunoco Stock Cars, IMCA Sunoco Hobby Stocks, Karl Kustoms Northern SportMods and Mach-1 Sport Compacts to Calhan.  Pit gates open at 1 p.m., the grandstand opens at 3 p.m. and racing starts at 5 p.m. 


Plemons banks $1,100 for career first URSS victory

By David Smith, Jr., OKTidbits CALHAN, Colo. (June 8) – Todd Plemons took the lead at the start and held off Zach Blurton to claim his first-career Lucas Oil POWRi United Rebel Sprint Series presented by Mel Hambelton Ford Racing 305-ci sprint car feature Saturday at El Paso County Raceway. Tracey Hill and Plemons started on the front row for the 20-lap IMCA RaceSaver Sprint Car fea­ture finale with Hill taking the lead as the initial green flag fell. The race quickly went caution when two cars got together entering turns one and two. On the complete restart, Plemons took the lead while Zach Blurton charged from his fourth start­ing position to take the runner-up position as Hill fell back to third.  Plemons kept up the pace the rest of the distance and picked up his first career series victory and a $1,100 paycheck while two-time and defending tour champion Blurton came home second. Scott Cochran finished third while Jeremy Huish picked up the Keizer Wheels Hard Charger award coming home fourth from his ninth [Read More]


$1,100 to win special awaits United Rebel Sprint Series this Saturday

By David Smith, Jr., OKTidbits  CALHAN, Colo. – The only trip into the state of Colorado takes place this coming Saturday night as the POWRi Lucas Oil United Rebel Sprint Series presented by Mel Hambelton Ford Racing makes its annual appearance at El Paso County Speedway in Calhan.   Rain has washed out three events thus far this season while Luke Cranston (two), Jake Martens and Jason Martin having taken home victories this 2019 race season.  Courtesy of Kevin Schramek, Schramek Landscaping is adding $500 to the purse with the extra $100 going to positions 1-5, making this a $1,100-to-win event.   Twenty-two previous events have been held at El Paso County Speedway with Brian Hardman and Adam Trimble having won here four times. Other feature winners include Jake Bubak (three), Pat­rick Bourke (two), Smokey Fairbank, Blake Smith, Mike Hathaway, Clint Schubert, Mike Tay­lor, Mark Walinder, John Jacob, Coby Pearce and Zach Blurton. Blurton won this event last year.     Gates open at 3 p.m. with race action slated for a 5 p.m. start [Read More]


Blurton wins first of 2018 with URSS In Colorado 

CALHAN, Colo. (June 23) – Zach Blurton won his first feature of the year with the United Rebel Sprint Series as he bested a 19-car field at El Paso County Raceway. Nick Haygood and Brian Herbert brought the IMCA RaceSaver Sprint Car field to the green with Herbert getting the jump on the initial start only to have it negated by a couple cars tangling in turn on. On the ensuing restart, Haygood jumped into the lead and held Herbert at bay for the first three laps before Herbert made his move to take over the number one spot. Herbert’s lead only lasted two laps before Haygood regained the front spot, only to get high a lap later, allowing Herbert back by and falling to sixth. In the meantime, the ninth starting Blurton was moving his way up through the field and was third by lap seven and took over second on lap nine. By lap 11, Blurton made his move to wrestle the lead from Herbert with Williams taking over third from Pearce one lap later. [Read More]