Shryock, Thornton star in Stock Car qualifiers

Kelly Shryock
Fist pump ! Kelly Shryock celebrates his Stock Car qualifying feature win during Friday’s IMCA Speedway Motors Super Nationals fueled by Casey’s show at Boone Speedway. (Photo by Tom Macht,

BOONE, Iowa (Sept. 8) – Two-division stars Kelly Shryock and Dylan Thornton led parades to the IMCA Speedway Motors Super Nationals fueled by Casey’s main event with Stock Car qualifying feature wins Friday at Boone Speedway.

Shryock led the last nine circuits of the first 25-lapper, finishing at the front of a top four that ultimately included Troy Burkhart, Cole Czarneski and Derrik Agee. Thornton drove from 17th, took the lead on the very last lap and led Travis Barker, Jake McBirnie and Jeff Ware across the stripe and onto the outside row for Saturday’s big show.

“This is the closest I’ve ever started toward the front,” said Shryock, his eye on Saturday. “I’ve won a lot of big races and any time I can pull onto this stage it means a lot to me.”

DQ’d from apparent top four finishes were Dustin Larson and Cody Center.

McBirnie took the lead following a lap two restart and lost it after a caution with three to go in the finale.

“I’m glad we got it done. I think we have a shot on Saturday,” said Thornton,” also qualified for the Modified show. “This car is so fun to drive. Hopefully we can put on a show tomorrow.”

SPEED SPORT.TV affiliate IMCA.TV broadcasts the 41st annual Super Nationals, which conclude with Modified, Stock Car, Northern SportMod and Hobby Stock championship events on Saturday night.

1st qualifying feature – 1. Kelly Shryock; 2. Troy Burkhart; 3. Cole Czarneski; 4. Derrick Agee; 5. Austin Meiners; 6. Shelby Williams; 7. Ty Hill; 8. Josh Daniels; 9. Dusty Van Horn; 10. Aaron Johnson; 11. Jason Rogers; 12. Elijah Zevenbergen; 13. Trent Nolan; 14. Mike Petersilie; 15. Todd Reitzler; 16. Trace Ayers; 17. Chris Palsrok; 18. Tyler Wilson; 19. Jeremy Christians; 20. Rowdee Van Genderen; 21. Nathan Ballard; 22. Dennis Bissonnette; 23. Adam Goff; 24. Abe Huls; 25. Brandon Czarapata; 26. Scott Brown; 27. Devin Tripp; 28. Loren Pesicka Jr. 

2nd qualifying feature results ­– 1. Dylan Thornton; 2. Travis Barker; 3. Jake McBirnie; 4. Jeff Ware; 5. Stefan Sybesma; 6. David Brandies; 7. Tim Eaton; 8. Matt Guillaume; 9. Dan Mackenthun; 10. Nick Strobbe; 11. Andrew Fidler; 12. Andrew Jochim; 13. Braden Richards; 14. Paul Stone; 15. Donavon Smith; 16. Scott Davis; 17. Trevor Egbert; 18. Kyle Rose; 19. Tommy Fain; 20. Justin Nehring; 21. John Oliver Jr.; 22. Justin Luinenburg; 23. Vern Jackson; 24. Jared Siefert; 25. Chanse Hollatz; 26. Dylan Schriner; 27. Chad Shaw; 28. Cameron Starry; 29. Jeremy Mills; 30. Jake Kubik.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply