Rust is fastest in IMCA Fast Shafts All-Star Invitational

Joel Rust
Joel Rust added a second Fast Shafts All Star Invitational trophy to his collection Friday at Boone Speedway, running away with the Friesen Performance IMCA Modified special after taking the lead on the 17th of 30 laps. (Photo by Tom Bruce Badgley, Motorsports Photography)

BOONE, Iowa (Sept. 8, 2023) – Every win at Boone Speedway is a good one to get, and Joel Rust got another one Friday night.

Rust raced to a bookend trophy during the IMCA Speedway Motors Super Nationals fueled by Casey’s program at Iowa’s Action Track, catching Jeremy Mills just after halfway and running way out front in the Fast Shafts All-Star Invitational.

Chaz Baca made his way to second from 14th starting in the field of 32 of the fastest Friesen Performance IMCA Modifieds at Boone, but there was no denying Rust the $1,000 winner’s share of the purse and another $350 in lap money.

“My All-Star win (in 2019) is special because it was the first one,” said Rust, also runner-up in last year’s race. “What makes this one special is that there were so many good cars here tonight and I had to work my way from eighth to get to the front.”

Mills, the first to congratulate Rust post-race, Mitchell Hunt and Chris Morris ran 3-4-5 in the 30-lapper.

Mills had led much of the first half, ahead of Hunt and then Rust, who narrowed the leader’s advantage to a car length at the end of lap 16 and was scored ahead by about the same distance the next time around.

The only caution waved on lap 19 and Rust was off to the races after that. Baca ran second the last seven times around the track.

“The line can change pretty quickly here and you’ve got to get up and go when you find it. My car was best on the top in (turns) one and two,” Rust said. “This win is right at the top for me. Any time you can win an All-Star Invitational at Boone, it’s one of your biggest wins of all.”

Two rounds of time trials determined the starting field for the All-Star race, contested by drivers winning sanctioned events that paid $1,000 or more since last September, or who won 2022 regional or state championships.

Fourteen states were represented in the All-Star Invitational feature.

IMCA.TV broadcasts the 41st annual Super Nationals, which conclude with Modified, Stock Car, Northern SportMod and Hobby Stock championship events on Saturday night.

Fast Shafts All-Star Invitational results – 1. Joel Rust, Grundy Center; 2. Chaz Baca, Mesa, Ariz.; 3. Jeremy Mills, Clear Lake; 4. Mitchell Hunt, Lakeview, Mich.; 5. Chris Morris, Taylor, Texas; 6. Nick Meyer, Whittemore; 7. Dylan Thornton, Keystone; 8. Kollin Hibdon, Pahrump, Nev.; 9. Ricky Alvarado, Hotchkiss, Colo.; 10. Tanner Black, Otis, Kan.; 11. Jeff Larson, Freeport, Ill.; 12. Jake Upchurch, Red Oak, Texas; 13. Jaxon Saathoff, Beatrice, Neb.; 14. Jake McBirnie, Boone; 15. Brett Berry, Hays, Kan.; 16. Regan Tafoya, Farmington, N.M.; 17. Zane DeVilbiss, Farmington, N.M.; 18. Anthony Roth, Columbus, Neb.; 19. Myron DeYoung, Crystal, Mich.; 20. Dakota Sproul, Hays, Kan.; 21. Chad May, Rockford, Mich.; 22. Steven Whiteaker Jr., Robstown, Texas; ; 23. Clint Hatlestad, Glencoe, Minn.; 24. Ryan McDaniel, Olivehurst, Calif.; 25. Benji LaCrosse, Casco, Wis.; 26. Tim Ward, Harcourt; 27. Braxton Yeager, Green River, Wy.; 28. Jerry Flippo, Clear Lake; 29. Jimmy Gustin, Marshalltown; 30. Jesse Williamson, Coburg, Ore.; 31. Matthew Day, Farmersville, Texas; 32. Tom Berry Jr., Des  Moines.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply