Drive For 5 opener goes to Andy Eckrich

By Brian Neal

DONNELLSON, Iowa (April 28, 2023) – Mother Nature finally gave Lee County Speedway a beautiful night for racing and Andy Eckrich made the most of evening, winning the 25-lap Iowa Corner Growers Association Drive For 5 qualifying feature for IMCA Sunoco Late Models. 

Eckrich took advantage of his front row draw to jump out into the lead on lap one over Sam Halstead and C.J. Horn.

While Halstead, Denny Woodworth and Horn battled for the runner-up spot, Eckrich started to pull away. But when Dekota Job spun on lap 12 to bring out the caution, it brought the field back to Eckrich’s back bumper.

On the restart Job spun in turn four to bring the yellow light back on, ending his night. The following restart saw Woodworth get up beside Eckrich for the top spot as the two raced side-by-side.

The action for the lead allowed Horn to join the battle. Horn tried the bottom of the track on the final lap to get the win away from Eckrich, but Eckrich was able to hold on for the win, worth $1,000. Ron Klein finished in third, Woodworth was fourth with Dalton Simonsen rounding out the top five.

Denny Eckrich held off Austen Becerra for the Friesen Performance IMCA Modified checkers and Derrick Agee denied challenges from John Oliver Jr. in winning the IMCA Sunoco Stock Car feature. 

Brayton Carter was best in a Friesen Performance IMCA Northern SportMod main slowed by a single caution. Jason Ash led from lap six to the finish of a Mach-1 IMCA Sport Compact feature that ran green to checkers.