Cordes, Reynolds, Vanous, Rick sweep championship night honors at Benton County Speedway

Troy Cordes earned a record-tying ninth Benton County Speedway track championship with his feature win Sunday night in the Friesen Performance IMCA Modified division. (Photo by Jim Wittke)

VINTON, Iowa (Aug. 21, 2022) – Season championship racing brought the IMCA weekly racing season to a close Sunday night at Benton County Speedway.

Champions were crowned in each of the six divisions and four of the titlists went out in impressive fashion by celebrating in victory lane.

Troy Cordes needed to finish within one position of Dallon Murty to secure his career ninth track title at The Bullring in the Friesen Performance IMCA Modifieds. He led the 20-lapper in its entirety to earn the win and track championship honors.

Cordes opened a big lead at the drop of the green while Grey Ferrando made his way into contention from a row four start. Ferrando worked into the runner-up spot just past midway then cut into the lead as Cordes manuevered through lapped traffic.

Ferrando closed on the leader late, however Cordes was quicker through traffic and held on for victory in the caution-free event. Cody Laney finished third and Jerry Dedrick was fourth.

Kaden Reynolds made his rookie year one to remember in the IMCA Sunoco Stock Cars, leading all 15 laps of that feature en route to his first track title in the division.

Reynolds was pursued by Leah Wroten throughout the event, but took the checkers by a comfortable margin to secure his sixth win of the year. Damon Murty and Shawn Bistline completed the top four.

Brett Vanous entered the night one point out of the lead and ended it with a feature win and the first track championship of his career in the IMCA Sunoco Hobby Stock division.

Vanous, who trailed Matt Brown by a single marker in the standings entering the night, raced into the lead from the drop of the green. Brown pursued and challenged throughout the 15-lapper but Vanous took the win and title.

Joren Fisher challenged late and was able to steal second ahead of Brown and Bradly Graham.

Lukas Rick swept championship night and track title honors in the Mach-1 IMCA Sport Compacts. He led all 15 laps to take the checkers ahead of Blake Driscol, Nolan Tuttle and Thomas Werning.

Ben Chapman already had the track title locked up prior to the start of the 15-lapper for the Friesen Performance IMCA Northern SportMods. Chapman led throughout that event until caution slowed action with a handful of laps to go.

On the restart, Tony Olson worked the top side around the leader, then held on over a couple more stoppages to secure the championship night victory. Chapman, Kyle Olson and Brady Hilmer rounded out the top four.

Jordan Miklas earned his seventh win of the season in the INEX Legends presented by Legends.Direct. He was pressured throughout that 15-lap feature by Dave McCalla and Michael Weber, but held on for the win. Weber made a late pass to secure second ahead of track champion McCalla. Robby Morrison was fourth.