Loverude races to Rucks Memorial checkers

Trent Loverude was the $1,000 IMCA Modified feature winner Saturday at Arlington Raceway. (Photo by Sarah Moriarty)

ARLINGTON, Minn. (Sept. 18) – Trent Loverude had a $1,000 payday for his win in the IMCA Modified Jeff Rucks Memorial Night Saturday at Arlington Raceway.

Dan Menk jumped to the lead at the drop of the first green flag but soon was contending with Clint Hatlestad. For eight laps, the two raced almost side by side with Hatlestad just ahead. Then a caution came out, Menk was able to get around Hatlestad on the restart and led for the next five laps. 

Loverude was moving through the field and also got around Hatlestad. With only a few laps left, lapped traffic became a factor and Menk took the wrong line as Loverude took over the race and went on to win and earn Fast Shafts All-Star Invitational qualifying eligibility as well with Menk taking second and Matt Gilbertson finishing ahead of Hatlestad at the line. 

Shaun Bruns won the IMCA Sunoco Stock Car nail biter ahead of Dan Mackenthun. Bill Johnson collected the checkers in the final Minnesota IMCA RaceSaver Sprint Car Series event of the season. Trevor Serbus is the series champion.

Matt Looft topped the Karl Kustoms Northern SportMods, Cory Probst was the IMCA Sunoco Hobby Stock winner and R.J. Esqueda led the way to the Mach-1 Sport Compact finish.