Travel decision pays off for Brauns

By Rob Hinckley 

EAST MOLINE, Ill. (May 30) – Jonathan Brauns made the decision to make the trek to East Moline and it paid off as the Muscatine, Iowa pilot led flag to flag to take Sunday’s 25-lap IMCA Sunoco Late Model finale at East Moline Speedway.

Andy Nezworski charged from mid-pack to the runner up spot by the checkers. Gary Webb, Joe Ross and Mike Guldenpfennig followed.

A season high 105 entries from four states jammed the pits and racing was concluded by 10 p.m.

Jeff Larson stayed hot with his second straight IMCA Modified 20-lap feature win. Also for the second week in a row, he picked up the $100 Maquoketa/East Moline bonus. 

Brandt Cole led early, charged late and settled for second followed by Travis Denning, Tim Hamburg and Brandon Durbin.

Jarrett Franzen topped a season best 27-car Karl Kustoms Northern SportMod field with only one of those not starting the main. On his mind this Memorial Day Weekend were the losses of two people close to his race team.

“Yeah, that was on my mind. Every time I went low into turn one I just wanted to stay smooth and get here. It’s emotional.”

The Maquoketa, Iowa ace also claimed a $100 Maquoketa/East Moline bonus for wins at both tracks. Steven Spiker, Cody Calam, Nathan Balensiefen and Trey Grimm rounded out the top five. 

Drew Burk won his second IMCA Sunoco Hobby Stock 12-lap finale. Adam Parker, Steve Rangel, Randy Lamar and Logan Gustaf followed. 

Mike Zemo Jr. took the 15-lap IMCA STARS Mod Lite feature, passing R.J. Gonzales late. Michael Dominguez, Anthony Guss and Rob Guss were next.