Braaksma, Dallon Murty, Bennett, Mallicoat are champions of IMCA Frostbuster Week

VINTON, Iowa – Ethan Braaksma, Dallon Murty, Solomon Bennett and Izac Mallicoat already have championships on their 2021 IMCA resumes. 

All topped point standings in their respective divisions for the four-race Frostbuster Week, which traveled to Stuart Speedway, Marshalltown Speedway, Boone Speedway and Benton County Speedway.

Braaksma, Jake McBirnie, Tim Ward and Cayden Carter were the top four in IMCA Modified Frostbuster standings.

Murty’s Frostbuster feature wins at Stuart and Marshalltown provided the tie breaker with his father Damon for IMCA Sunoco Stock Car honors. Jay Schmidt was third while Todd VanEaton ended in fourth, also by virtue of a higher place finish during the week.

Bennett edged Aaron Martin by a single point in Hobby Stock standings, with Luke Ramsey and Randy LaMar next.

Mallicoat was followed by Brayton Carter, Dylan VanWyk and Brandon Tharp in the Karl Kustoms Northern SportMod points. 

Point fund shares of $320, $240, $160 and $80 in each division will be mailed this week from the IMCA home office. Champions’ plaques and jackets will be presented during the IMCA national awards banquet this fall. 

And along with the early season bragging rights, Frostbuster kings become eligible to qualify for their race of champions events at the IMCA Speedway Motors Super Nationals fueled by Casey’s in September.

Temperatures more fitting for February than April forced cancellation of the Frostbuster scheduled at Independence.